Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Schwaig

Ctugha, Ithaqua and Cthulhu

12 posts in this topic

Yesterday we played a very strange game, using Innsmouth, Dunwich, Dark Pharaoh and the Lurker against Ctugha, the Pharaoh, the Lurker and Ghroth.

I had Leo Anderson with 5 clues after the second round and went straight into the Plateau of Leng where I had a nice meeting with Ithaqua, who was some somehow angry about me disturbing his slumber there. After he destroyed Leo's only weapon, an axe, I stood no change against him and Leo was devoured.

New character Harvey with amazing load out, Wither, Staff of the Pharaoh (?) an Elder Sign and another Spell which I cant remember right now. So I went straight into another open portal to R'lyeh. And guess who waited there for me? The mighty Cthulhu of course who, mainly because of bad rolls, devoured me again.

 

We hardly ever have these encounters with battles against Great Old Ones and now two in four turns. Have you had anything like this before?

 

And also a question to these encounters: If one uses epic battle variant, would you also use epic battle variant for these combats?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Man, that's an unfortunate accident! In 300 games played with Arkham I *never* entered an OW final battle (and it's something I really wish have happened, at least once in a blue moon).

 

As for your question: no, you don't use Epic Battle cards for OW Final Battles. Cfr FAQ, pag 19:

 

Q: Are Epic Battle cards [KH] meant to be used when fighting an Ancient One as the result of a dual-colored gate encounter?
A: No.

Schwaig likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Swell. Don't have Dunwich but I'm sure delighted that yet another instant death scenario exists since I didn't think there were enough of em already. (sarcasm) :huh:

Schwaig likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jackman,

these special encounters are from Dark Pharaoh, not Dunwich. Not really important, just to let you know where is the trouble, in case you want to get that expansion (or not) :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well its actually not that unfair. Sometimes you really have a good chance and if you win you get a sealed location and a gate trophy as reward. If I hadn't lost the axe against Ithaqua I think I might have defeated him.

Julia likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's not really that I can't go for Dunwich--I'm just keeping my eye on Ebay for a mass purchase of what I still need at a good price--was close once but a lurker got me at the end.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0