Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Ravncat

Darth Vader and Gunner

Recommended Posts

Well - there's that. :)

 

At least the Cluster missile + gunner + vader = purely theoretical, I don't think anything can take that loadout at the moment... maybe when we get the assault gunboat ...

 I may be wrong, but couldn't the Firespray run that combo?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Well - there's that. :)

 

At least the Cluster missile + gunner + vader = purely theoretical, I don't think anything can take that loadout at the moment... maybe when we get the assault gunboat ...

 I may be wrong, but couldn't the Firespray run that combo?

Firespray only has one crew slot, so you'd have to choose between Gunner and Vader.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Well - there's that. :)

 

At least the Cluster missile + gunner + vader = purely theoretical, I don't think anything can take that loadout at the moment... maybe when we get the assault gunboat ...

 I may be wrong, but couldn't the Firespray run that combo?

Firespray only has one crew slot, so you'd have to choose between Gunner and Vader.

 

Right. I figured I must be overlooking something. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Immediately wasn't intended to make one effect resolve prior to another in the same situation, The FAQ states that existing effects are resolved in the order determined by player or initiative.  Immediately in the case of the Gunner is simply to keep the ship which is performing the attack from adding/playing another non-triggered effect before the attack is resolved.

 

It may not even have anything to do with the current cards, but could instead be worded this way to eleviate conflict with cards that are being tested now for release in future expansions.  This is my determination based on the rules, FAQ and keeping it simple.  I think this issue is WAY over thought and is a non-issue.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Immediately in the case of the Gunner is simply to keep the ship which is performing the attack from adding/playing another non-triggered effect before the attack is resolved.

Where does that idea come from? Can you quote any reference?

 

Which non-triggered effect would that be? Besides starting another attack with the same or (more likely) different ship? Is the word "immediately" required for this result? You need to use FCC (without "immediately") after the attack as well, not after the next attack.

 

If the idea is to "keep the ship which is performing the attack from adding/playing another non-triggered effect before the attack is resolved" I fail to see the relevance of the word "immediately". It seems identical to any attack-triggered effect without the word "immediately".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The idea that the word "immediately" is completely superfluous (i.e. just for emphasis and not with the weight of rule) is not without merit,

That is indeed one option. Did Sunsteel mean that?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It looks like the thread "Immediately" has taken over the topic, however, yes since there is nothing in the rules that clearly defines what "immediately" is, it should be ignored until an FAQ gives it meaning and not left to each individual to interpret.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's alot like saying, there's nothing in the rules that clearly defines what (choose a word used on a card, and place it here as per..) "attack" is, so we should ignore it until the FAQ gives us answers...

 

In all seriousness though - isn't the idea that "card text overrides rules" (pg 20)  in play? The idea of activating immediately  - right away  - is fairly easily understandable - it's not that nebulous a word is it?  If it's a problem in your play group or tournament - have a TO rule, or use the dice to resolve the rules dispute until there's an FAQ entry ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...