• Announcements

    • FFG Fra

      Upcoming Changes to the Fantasy Flight Games Forums   01/20/2017

      Hello Fantasy Flight Games forum community!   This week, we will be making some important changes to your Fantasy Flight Games community account and the way that you log into the Fantasy Flight Games community forums and web store.   We have been working hard to integrate with the rest of the Asmodee group, and we are happy to announce a unified way to access all the websites and apps made by Fantasy Flight Games, Days of Wonder, and Asmodee!   For most users, nothing will change: you will still log into the Fantasy Flight Games forums using your current login name and password. Only the login user interface will be new.   For a few users, your credentials might be slightly changed. For example, this could happen to users who have both a Fantasy Flight Games and Days of Wonder account, or in the case of conflicting login names across platforms. When these situations occur, special e-mails will be sent to those users with an easy explanation about those changes and what steps to take next. For any of you receiving those e-mails, please make sure to follow the instructions carefully.   Remember, official communications from Fantasy Flight Games or Asmodee.Net will never ask for your password.   What are the benefits for you as a player? Using a unified account to access all of our web services and apps makes your life simpler. Over time, you will see new features emerging, such as keeping all of your friends under a single account, finding friends easily in apps with online play, or developing your personal profile by adding to your board games collection. These are just some of the features that you will see during the next year, once this important technical step is complete.   Important note: The migration of the forums to our new system will take place on Tuesday, January 24th. The forums will be offline for about two hours during that time. Once the migration is complete, older forum posts may look strange for up to 24 hours as we rebuild them in our new system.   We can’t wait to connect our board game communities and build bridges between universes, game systems, players, events, groups, game clubs, and more! This is only the first step in bringing people and games closer together. For more information, read our FAQ at https://asmodee.helpshift.com/a/asmodee-net/.   Best regards,   The Fantasy Flight Games Team
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jackman51

Final Flute clarification ( I hope)

8 posts in this topic

Q: How exactly does Flute of the Outer Gods work? Must you first make an Evade or Horror check or are those considered "Combat" checks as well?

A: Evade checks and Horror checks occur before the Combat check is made. The Flute of the Outer Gods only applies to the Combat check specified in step 2 ("Fight or Flee") of combat.

 

The above is from the FAQ.

 

The answer doesn't quite spell out precisely as to whether you do in fact have to make a Horror check on a monster before using it--it only makes clear that Evading and Horror checks are not Combat checks. I am inferring however that that yes, since you moved into the location or street area with the Flute you must use it during the Combat check portion of movement which would indeed require a Horror check against at least one foe first (and incidently is it okay to Evade in this case since even though you stay in the location there wouldn't be a Combat check?--seems like no you couldn't use the Flute if you Evade). This seems consistent with other forum posts here which predate this latest FAQ. Am I correct?

 

And finally I have read on other posts that, unlike spell costs, you need not have the full 3 stamina and/or sanity in order to activate it. It is a "loss" (lose) that can be partially negated for example by Michael McGlenn's ability. Is this the current understanding?

 

I apologize for raising this again but searches result in multiple threads with sometimes different responses and had hoped the issue was finally understood by all the same way now.

Hermanel likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Indeed, this FAQ entry could have been clearly better worded. So, I'll tell you the way I play this (and I think this is also the way the community plays it; and sure, there is a lot of space for rules lawyery, but if we start lawyering on the card, we won't obtain any result). So.

 

The Flute allows you to instantly defeat all monsters in your area. Hence, you must be in the area with those monsters. And you have to deal with them somehow. It's also thematically consistent: you don't blow your flute at the Graveyard unless there is something nasty you're aware of. But if you're aware of them, you have to have seen at least one of them. Hence the Horror check. This is more or less the reason why the Flute should be played this way:

 

- you enter a location / street area with one or more monster

- you resolve the Horror Check against one of these monsters (you choose which one to pick)

- if you survive the Horror Check, you can use the Flute to instantly defeat the monster you just tested Horror against and all other monsters in the area

- by blowing in the Flute, your energies are drained: you don't have to have enough points of San / Sta to play the Flute, but on the other hand it's quite likely that you're devoured in the process. And indeed, this is because it's a loss

 

The Horror check to be done or not was longly debated. In the first draft of the final FAQ, it was said you could use the Flute before making the Horror Check; it was later changed, and this is why I'm pretty sure the above sequence is correct

 

Let me know if this has some sense :)

Tibs likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

jackman51,

 

     Julia is "spot-on" ~ I have only a few things to add. 

 

  • Horror Check: may be "made" against something that doesn't even require a check, such as a Cultist
  • "Flute" may NOT be used to defeat all of the monsters associated with The Terrible Experiment Rumor 
  • As the Stamina and Sanity are considered a "loss" Michael McGlen's/Harvey Walters' Special Ability DOES work

     At least this is how I play it, along with everything Julia described in her post.

 

Cheers,

Joe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Joe, you're certainly correct on all the points you touched :) I'll only highlight that the Flute may not be used to defeat ANY monster associated with the Terrible Experiment (no monsters of the TE is "on the board", hence no area, hence no Flute at all)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah; I dimly remember from the previous threads a lot of fruitless debate over what counts as "before" the combat check, but I don't think there's any way of reading the FAQ such that you're allowed to use the flute in Step 2 without having first weathered the horror check in Step 1.

 

That said, I'm surprised to hear you both say that it's a loss; even though it uses the word "lose," "Lose X to do Y" seems like pretty standard cost language*, although it would be very difficult to use if that were the case.  And, as I frequently mention, I've long since despaired of ever understanding the loss/cost distinction.

 

 

 

*cf. Lightning Gun, Blue Watcher, etc. (also, the discard pretty clearly has to be a cost for the usual Finn reasons)

Julia likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay so yes a horror check  ( and evade is not sufficient?)  against one possibly really easy foe then literally blow them all away.
 
And I guess it seems agreement has been reached on the "loss" thing. I think... :blink:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay so yes a horror check  ( and evade is not sufficient?)

 

Evading allows you to avoid combat, not to start one. So, if you evade, you can't use the Flute.

 

As for the loss vs cost thing... I usually apply "losses" rules whenever I see a "you lose X" sentence

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

subochre,

 

     You're spot-on on one of the longest-lasting issues with FFG's editorial staff...if they have one.  I'm a play-tester of war games for several magazines (Strategy & Tactics and Modern War) in addition to managing 20 linguists in my full-time job.  In short, words matter!  Unfortunately, the "loss" and "cost" controversy will continue on...

 

Cheers,

Joe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0