Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Herald

Decreasing number of hits during final battle

10 posts in this topic

Hi all,

 

last night we were playing a 3-player game and we went all the way to the final battle. As we were 3, we needed 3 hits to remove one doom token from our GOO. In the first round, we together scored 10 hits, which means 3 doom tokens were removed and 1 hit was "stored" for the next round. During GOO's attack, 2 investigators died, so only 1 remained for the next attack and therefore he needed only 1 hit to remove doom token. During his roll, he scored 2 hits. And now comes the question: does he remove 3 doom tokens for his 2 hits and that 1 hit "stored" from the previous round? Or since that 1 hit was scored when 3 players were still alive, it doesn't count anymore? Or do we play something completely wrong with our hits?

 

Thanks for any advice!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think the devoured investigators do count. So only 1 token for 3 hits.

 

But I'm not an expert in these things.

Edited by Garthnait

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The number of successes required to remove one doom token is equal to the number of investigators playing the game. This is constant, regardless of:

a) investigators dead because they were LiTaS when the AO awoke (so, if you play 5, but you start FB with only 3 investigators alive, you still need 5 successes to remove one doomer)

b) board reduction factor (this is relevant only if you have two or more expansion boards in play; not so sure it's your case, so I won't cover it here. If you need, just ask for the details)

c) investigators dead during Final Battle (so, if you start the FB with 5 investigators, each doom token requires 5 successes to be removed, regardless of the number of investigators actually alive after round 1)

Hope this helps

 

JULIA

Tibs and Herald like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The number of successes required to remove one doom token is equal to the number of investigators playing the game. This is constant, regardless of:

a) investigators dead because they were LiTaS when the AO awoke (so, if you play 5, but you start FB with only 3 investigators alive, you still need 5 successes to remove one doomer)

b) board reduction factor (this is relevant only if you have two or more expansion boards in play; not so sure it's your case, so I won't cover it here. If you need, just ask for the details)

c) investigators dead during Final Battle (so, if you start the FB with 5 investigators, each doom token requires 5 successes to be removed, regardless of the number of investigators actually alive after round 1)

Hope this helps

 

JULIA

So we were playing it wrong. For a pretty long time:) There are ALWAYS some rules in this game we play wrong or totaly forget:( Thanks a lot Julia!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You're welcome :) And don't worry, two weeks ago I realised that I've always played Visions wrong :facepalm: Arkham is quite a big ocean, full of nuances sometimes difficult to catch

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Julia,

 

     Just curious...how were you playing the Visions card?  I ask, because I had to read it again to note that "any other Investigator may discard a Spell..." or unless you play with the revised one, "may choose one other investigator to to gain +1 focus"

 

 

Ciao,

Joe

Edited by The Professor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It was the old one. I've always read the "may discard a Spell to gain clues" sentence as if the discarding player gained the clues. Instead, it's the guy with Visions who gains them! A classic lost in translation issue, I'd say :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Julia,

 

     Your initial reading is one perfectly fine interpretation.  As a native speaker of English who works with linguists, English is not nearly as precise as many other languages.  To that end, it is completely reasonable to make the call that the Investigator who discards the Spell also receives the Clue tokens similar to the sharing aspect of the Private Investigator Benefit card.  Of course, akin to the Anointed Benefit card, your second interpretation makes sense as the owner of the card should derive the benefit.

 

Cheers,

Joe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Joe,

thanks for your observations on the way the card can be interpreted. And yes, it was by comparing Visions with Anointed that I got the Arcane Insight :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0