Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Shinner

Spawn Monsters and Vortex

13 posts in this topic

Shinner,

 

     I've never had this happen before (and that's over 100 games!), but I would posit that the effects of the Vortex takes place ~ i.e. in Dunwich, add a marker for the Dunwich Horror (unless it's already out, as it doesn't matter what enters the Vortex); in Innsmouth, add a Deep One Token to the Deep One Track.  As to the Spawn Monster...return it to the GOO's sheet or wherever it normally resides.

 

Cheers,

Joe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are some possibilities for a Spawn to enter a vortex (Servants of Glaaki, Child of Abhoth, and also the Dunwich Horror if the Dark Druid is in play and his special ability is triggered twice). Since Spawn can be killed, a Spawn entering a vortex triggers all the specifics related to that vortex (as Joe said) and then it's returned to the AO sheet (Servants and Children of Abhoth) or to the game board (the Dunwich Horror reforms immediately at Sentinel Hill since the DH track is still full)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rule "For each monster returned to the cup in this fashion, raise the terror level by one".
Spawn come back not to a cup of Monsters. There are links to official сlarifications?

 

Spawns that don't come back to a cup getting to the Vortex, so and its effects shouldn't work.

Edited by Shinner

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Shinner,

 

     I'm a rules-lawyer for many years and I like the way you think...for instance, at Y'anthlei in Innsmouth it states you may only "enter" it from Devil's Reef...it says nothing about 'leaving' it, so Silas (and I assume, others) are free to depart the location, but only 'enter' it from Devil's Reef.  The same kind of thinking can be applied here.  If a Spawn Monster enters the Vortex, it departs the board, but does NOT trigger the Vortex Effects.  Some will agree, others will call it quibbling, and others still will have their blood-pressure raised by your interpretation.  For what it's worth, I like it!

 

Cheers,

Joe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ок. Thanks!

 

And one more small question not on a subject... But there is no wish to create a new subject for it.

Removed Clues from Closed ("Close" counter) Locations? It happens important when the Location Is closed on 1 round.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Closed locations have investigators and monsters move to the street. Nothing has ever been said of removing clues, so I'd say they stay where they are (you can still pick'em up with special means, like Student Newspaper)

 

As for your other point, I agree that Spawn are not returned to the cup like other monsters; nonetheless, I'll trigger the +1 terror because the vortex ate something. No official clarifications on this point so far, though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Shinner,

 

     You have to understand, Julia is a mad-woman (I mean that in the sweetest and most complimentary way possible :P) and she will do everything to make the game harder.  If she could lie on a bed of nails and still see the board, she'd try it. 

 

Cheers,

Joe

Edited by The Professor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0