Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Kaidreas

Summoned stones

3 posts in this topic

I playing with a wizard (can't remember the name).

he's wielding a magic staff, it damages a monster by 1 (within 3 spaces). when I summone a stone, it comes into play and is allowed an attack with my magic weapon, does the surge ability apply when attacking with my summoned stone? in my opinion it does.

 

The wizzard uses a skill, the summoned stone, attack gains blast, also with that magic weapon. Is the surge ability also allowed in this case? and when each monster resolve the attack, does the surge ability damage a monster within 3 spaces for each time the attack from the blast is resolved?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your stone would be able to use any surge bonus listed on your weapon card, so in this case, the staff.  It cannot use your skills or allow you to restore a fatigue.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I playing with a wizard (can't remember the name).

he's wielding a magic staff, it damages a monster by 1 (within 3 spaces). when I summone a stone, it comes into play and is allowed an attack with my magic weapon, does the surge ability apply when attacking with my summoned stone? in my opinion it does.

 

Yes, the attack is being made with the magic weapon, so any surge abilities on that weapon may be used.  Surge abilities on other items and equipment your hero has cannot (I'm 90% sure) because the attack is being made by the stone itself.

 

Note that some Geomancer abilities allow the Geomancer himself to make attacks through the stone.  This is different, and all the hero's available equipment would count.  But if the stone itself is making the attack, it only has access to equipment the ability that grants the attack allows (in this case, a magic weapon.)

 

The wizzard uses a skill, the summoned stone, attack gains blast, also with that magic weapon. Is the surge ability also allowed in this case? and when each monster resolve the attack, does the surge ability damage a monster within 3 spaces for each time the attack from the blast is resolved?

 

Yes, you can still use the surge ability in this case.  Gaining Blast does not prevent the use of other abilities that were previously allowed.

 

The attack is only resolved once, however.  The fact that it may affect more than one figure does not mean it is resolved multiple times.  You only roll the attack dice once.  You only get to spend your surges once on any available surge abilities, which then apply to the entire attack.  As such, the surge ability in question is only triggered once, as well.

Edited by Steve-O

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0