Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Sorrik

Tomble Burrowell Heroic Feat

17 posts in this topic

I am sure this must have been asked before, but I couldn't find the search function so I hope I don't get chastised :D

 

Anyway Tomble's heroic feat rasied a question last session for us. His feat reads like this ...

 

"Action.png: Remove your figure from the map and place a hero token in your space. At the start of your next turn, place your figure in any empty space within 4 spaces of your hero token"

 

Does this feat allow him to "move" through closed doors?

 

As the OL I was like "hold on ... he is a thief, clearly this skill is supposed to act like 'move in shadows' so I am sure that the 2 dragons in the room behind this closed door that you just tried to sneak through with this feat would see you open and close a door!"

 

The player responded with ... "what if his skill is like 'Nightcrawlers'"?

 

I couldn't argue, I wanted to haha, but since it was a feat and only could be used once per encounter I let him do it. However I wanted an answer on this.

 

For clairification it was on the Fat Goblin encounter, he was infront of a closed door just before the cave and popped up behind the other closed door on the opposite side of the cave. It was 4 spaces he moved but the closed doors made me scratch my head

 

FYI for those that don't know Nightcrawler is a Marvel superhero (Xmen) that can essentially teleport. :ph34r:

 

 

Thanks for the info

-Sorrik

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, he can't use this ability to move through closed doors or walls.  The answer you seek lies in how to "count spaces."  There's a sidebar about "counting space" somewhere around page 11 of the rulebook (I think?)

 

In a nutshell, when an ability says "do X within N spaces," you can count through other figures and tokens out to N spaces distant, but you can't count through walls, closed doors or obstacles (the red-bordered terrain.)  Line of Sight is not required unless the ability says so, but adjacency of each space to the next is.  Doors break adjacency when they're closed.

Robin13 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi i have another question.

 

Last game night we had a disagreement about the way his Heroic Feat Works.

All with regard to how and when he arrives in his new Space,

and when he does, can he be effeted by any eff that says "Play this card when a hero enters an empty Space"

 

 

1.

turn 1: He uses his power removes his figure Places a token.

turn 2: places his figure, and is treaded as if he has been there since last turn and the Space is not empty, so he can not be effected by triggers that says "enters an empty Space"

 

 

2

turn 1: He uses his power removes his figure Places a token.

turn 2: Places his figure and becurz he just arrives in that Space, the Overload can play the Card

 

Please help ;-)

Edited by Frollefreya

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good question.

The feat's text speaks of "placing" the figure: I would tend to consider that different from "entering" the square.

But it could be a good question to ask FFG.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yes thats true, there could be a loophole there ...Placing / entering ;-)

 

what about the other part "when does he move" turn 1 or turn 2

 

/Frollefreya

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

what about the other part "when does he move" turn 1 or turn 2

 

 

Could you elaborate?

I don't quite catch the meaning of your question/reference. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

place means place, and not move into/onto etc.

OL cards saying "play this card when the hero moves to/enters the space" do not work.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

TL;DR: #2 is correct. He may be Pit Trapped.

 

place means place, and not move into/onto etc.

OL cards saying "play this card when the hero moves to/enters the space" do not work.

 

Nowhere in the rules does it define "entering" as only happening during movement (which is a pretty well-defined, though complicated, term). It's definitely not a Move Action, so Tripwire wouldn't work, but I do believe that something like Pit Trap would work.

 

We can actually look at the ruling on Astarra, whose ability is a bit incorrect in that it says "move to" even though FFG's ruling has been that she is removed and placed (the correctness here isn't what we're looking for, but in the justification that Pit Trap can be placed when a figure is placed) (emphasis mine): http://boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Descent_Second_Edition_Unofficial_FAQ#toc17

Q: When Astarra moves using her ability, does she actually have to trace a path on the map to reach the target square, or just place herself adjacent to the hero? Would monsters in between her and the hero block her movement? Would she suffer from effects such as lava or freezing? Can the OL pit trap her during this movement?

A: Astarra is removed and placed, so there are no terrain or obstacle effects to hinder that movement. However, she is entering an empty space, so the overlord could play a Pit Trap. (1)

 

Note that there is no explicit "she is treated as entering that space" on Astarra's card, so her entering the empty space must come from being placed there.

Robin13 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Note that there is no explicit "she is treated as entering that space" on Astarra's card, so her entering the empty space must come from being placed there.

 

I agree.  Placing a figure is not the same thing as moving a figure, but entering a space is entering a space.  The figure wasn't in that space before, and now it is, therefore it has entered the space.

Frollefreya likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with Steve-O ... it was the same point i used to the players. 

 

 

 

 

what about the other part "when does he move" turn 1 or turn 2

 

 

Could you elaborate?

I don't quite catch the meaning of your question/reference. 

 

 

Well it was becuz there was a lot of fuzz about when he did his move.

With focus on being effected by OL Cards.

My playes agreed that, when he used his power, he did the move. (turn 1) And then Next turn (turn 2) you just placed the figure to show where. (therefor he could not be the target of eff.)

 

But i disagreed. i said that he didt his move the turn after he used his power. (as it says, clearly)

 

dont now if that explained it... i not the best with writen Words ;-)

 

/ Frollefreya

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another question from me. When Tomble is escorting someone (for example guests in The Masquerade Ball) and he uses his Heroic, will the escorted guest also disappear and will be immune to attacks until Tomble reappears?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Descent_Second_Edition_Unofficial_FAQ#toc30

Q: If Tomble is carrying an objective token (Trueshot Bow, crop, Idol, etc.) and decides to use his heroic feat to vanish off of the board, does the objective token get dropped or does it disappear with him off of the board?

A: Unless quest rules specify otherwise, he'd keep the objective token with him.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To elaborate, portcullis do not block line of sight but they block movement. However, neither Tomble nor Tinashi's heroic feat considered "movement", as such, these feats can be used to move through portcullis, jump over chasms, skim over lava, bypass elevation...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0