Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
gavinwatson

Question about movement and stunning

9 posts in this topic

Hi guys, just a couple of questions. The only things that a confusing us .

 

Can a character spend its two actions to move twice, then spend all their fatigue to move a further few squares, then spend up to one less than their total health (as fatigue is maxed out) to move a further few squares again? Obviously the character would be one hit away from defeat, but is it legal to do this?

 

My other question is about stunning. The new errata states that stunning does not remove the whole turn, instead the figure has to spend on action removing the stun then they have one action remaining. For heros this makes sense, they can only attack once. However, for monsters this is pointless as they can only ever attack once anyway. So if a monster is adjacent to the figure, the stun action doesn't really do anything. The hero Ashriana (Not sure how it's spelt) stuns minion monsters that activate adjacent to her, once we read the errata that skill became totally useless. Surely it makes sense that stun removes a minion monster's whole turn and a hero's action point?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A hero can move twice, uses fatigue to move squares. Or, uses fatigue to move, make a first move action, a second one, or attacking.

 

But heroes cannot spend life in exchange of fatigue. Heroes only take damage instead of fatigue IF an effect FORCE them to spend fatigue and stamina is full. and only in that case.

 

 

Stun, in simple word, force figure to lose an action. So a stunned monster would'nt be able to attack and move, or moving only once, And losing a action is powerfull enough. And Ashrian is not the only hero to stun. some other things stuns too.

Attacking is not the only purpose of the game. For example, Ashrian well used in the intro assure the lose of the overlord, since goblins would lost actions to get away.

Robin13 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

- A hero may not voluntarily spend fatigue over its stamina level - it only can suffer fatigue (from adverse circumstances) in that way.

 

See p. 13 of Rulebook : "When using skills or moving, a hero may only suffer fatigue up to an amount equal to his Stamina. If any other game effect forces a hero to suffer fatigue in excess of his Stamina, he instead suffers damage equal to the excess fatigue that would have been suffered."

 

- The FAQ about stunning is not "a new errata": it is the explanation of what the card actually says - reading the card as written leads to that ruling.

Monsters which are stunned loose one action to remove stun. They now have only one action left. Of course, if they are in a position to attack (whether by adjacent close combat or by firing at a distance), they can attack, but they won't be able to move.

In many situations, unability to move and attack during the same activation does make the monsters quite vulnerable (no "hit and run" or move-attack-move tactics anymore). So stun is far from useless for monsters.

Edited by Robin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"inaverdently cheated" is an oxymoron.  ;)

BTW, I would consider that it is hard not to play somehow wrong during a quest - there are enough elements to miss (or misunderstand).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0