Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Deltmi

Dutch Vander and R5-K6

8 posts in this topic

I searched the Rules forum but couldn't find an answer to my question... Here's the question:

 

Can Dutch's ability be activated in the Combat Phase by the R5-K6 droid? Dutch's ability is normally activated in the Activation Phase if he Target Locks (TLs) an enemy. I think the answer to my questions is "yes", but I wanted some feedback to see if my logic is correct.

 

Dutch's Ability: "After acquiring a target lock, choose another friendly ship at Range 1-2. The chosen ship may immediately acquire a target lock."

 

R5-K6 Ability: "After spending your target lock, roll 1 defense die. On a (evade) result, immediately acquire a target lock on that same ship. You cannot spend this target lock during this attack."

 

 

Scenario:

 

Combat Phase

 

1. Dutch (PS6) has acquired a TL on an enemy Academy TF (PS1) (Dutch "gave" a TL to Wedge in the Activation Phase, and Wedge flew out of the picture). Biggs (PS5) is in Range 2 and has a Focus. (ignore the fact the TLs are different letters...this is just for illustration)

 

IMG_1027.jpg

2. Dutch uses the TL as part of his attack, but the TF is still alive. 

 

IMG_1028.jpg

 

3. Dutch activates the R5-K6 droid card, and rolls an evade dice. Dutch is granted another TL on the TF (but can't use it). (Here's the question) Does the R5-K6 trigger Dutch's ability? If yes, then Biggs is granted a TL which he can use during his attack.

 

IMG_1029.jpg

 

This is my interpretation of this rule, but I wanted to see if my logic is sound. What say you?

Edited by Deltmi

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is how that combination works. Also, keep in mind that Dutch's ability is NOT a free action, its treated as an ability. This means that you could generate a target lock on Biggs even if Biggs has a stress token on him. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yup. You can even spend his TL and roll no dice to hand out free ones.

While this is possible, I don't recommend it personally. R5-K6 is an imperial spy, and so he chooses to malfunction a lot, sabotaging your target lock plans.

In my opinion, he is the single worst card in the game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Yup. You can even spend his TL and roll no dice to hand out free ones.

While this is possible, I don't recommend it personally. R5-K6 is an imperial spy, and so he chooses to malfunction a lot, sabotaging your target lock plans.

In my opinion, he is the single worst card in the game.

 

Which is the exact reason to do it. With Dutch you want to Target Lock every round anyway. An extra one in three chance is nice as long as you aren't relying on it. So doing anything to increase the number of times you attempt it is good. If you succeed you succeed, if you fail... it's not like you weren't going to try to acquire another lock next round anyway right?

 

Granted the fact that the little guy is the same cost as the objectively better Fire Control System is annoying but if you have a spare two points and nothing pressing to do with it...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I understand the reasoning perfectly well. The theoretical synergy exists, if you were building a squad with no point restrictions. But there are always better ways to spend the points in your squad than that droid. It is a terrible choice if you are building a competitive list.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In my opinion, he is the single worst card in the game.

 

 

I believe saboteur is going to become a serious contender for that title.

Edited by Jehan Menasis

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0