Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Calendyr

Question about droids

6 posts in this topic

Hello guys,

 

just a quick question about droid cards.  Can a droid do a second action for the ship it's in or does the action it does replace the one from the pilot?

 

I can't find anything in the rules regarding this.  To me it would make sense the droid can do things on it's own on top of the pilot doing it's own action but I hate not knowing.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I probably wouldn't call it "replaced" - the pilot still has all their standard actions available to them.  The droid (or any other upgrade with the "Action" keyword) gives you a new option to spend your action on.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Replaced.

But seriously, yeah you could say it effectively adds another action to your pilot's action bar, rather than thinking of it as replacing your action. I'm not sure why some things specify that they add an action (like Boost from Engine Upgrade) but Droids do not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Replaced.

But seriously, yeah you could say it effectively adds another action to your pilot's action bar, rather than thinking of it as replacing your action. I'm not sure why some things specify that they add an action (like Boost from Engine Upgrade) but Droids do not.

Some cards (ex: Engine Upgrade) specifically add actions to your action bar because there are other cards & abilities that specifically state they effect actions in the action bar. Seems to have been a conscious design choice to keep action bar actions separate from, for example, an R5 action that removes a damage card.

Jim

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What Emrico said.

 

Most of the abilities which grant free actions either give specific ones (Turr, Expert Handling) or allow you to take an action on your bar (Push the Limit, Lando).  Vader can do whatever he wants with his second, and Squad Leader allows any action, but I believe all the others are limited.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0