Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
sorednax

Fight vs Combat, please clarify

7 posts in this topic

The rules for combat state you use your fight skills, plus any item cards (like guns/whips/etc) that give you modifiers to your combat.

 

But in the final bttle, it seems the write up on the ancient ones specify "your FIGHT skill" and not necessarily your combat, ergo, do you get your modifiers from items, spells, etc?  Or is is just your stright fight skill?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When "in Combat" against a Monster, you use the Investigator's Fight Skill along with anything (ally, weapon, spell, etc.) that adds a bonus for either Fight (Tom "Mountain" Man' Murphy's +2 Fight) or Combat (.45 Pistol's +4 to combat).

 

However, if an encounter requires a Fight check, only the Fight check and anything that provides a bonus solely to Fight (i.e. Sledgehammer's +1 Fight and not the Combat bonus) may be used

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, I think it was clarified for me like this...

 

When Combat is specified = Fight + Weapons

 

When Fight is specified = Just Fight Skill

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But in the final bttle, it seems the write up on the ancient ones specify "your FIGHT skill" and not necessarily your combat, ergo, do you get your modifiers from items, spells, etc?  Or is is just your stright fight skill?

 

In final battle you do get to add any applicable combat bonuses from items.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

But in the final bttle, it seems the write up on the ancient ones specify "your FIGHT skill" and not necessarily your combat, ergo, do you get your modifiers from items, spells, etc?  Or is is just your stright fight skill?

 

In final battle you do get to add any applicable combat bonuses from items.

 

 

And that's the reason why we read "magical immunity" / "physicaly resistance" and so on on the AOs sheets... otherwise, if only Fight counted, we couldn't care the less about immunities or resistances...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, I think it was clarified for me like this...

 

When Combat is specified = Fight + Weapons

 

When Fight is specified = Just Fight Skill

 

If by this you mean the same thing Professor said, then ok.  Otherwise, I think you might be slightly off course.

 

There are two type of bonuses, Combat bonuses and Fight bonuses.  All Fight bonuses are also Combat bonuses, but Combat bonuses are not Fight bonuses.

 

Therefore, in Combat, you gain all + Combat and all + Fight modifiers.  If you're maing a Fight skill check outside of combat, you only get + Fight modifiers.  This is not quite the same as saying "Combat = Fight + Weapons" because it is possible that some weapons may provide a + Fight bonus, which would apply to Fight checks equally well.

 

Combat = Fight Skill + Fight Modifers + Combat Modifiers

Fight Check = Fight Skill + Fight Modifiers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0