Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
daboomer

OL Relic Question

6 posts in this topic

A 'quest' is made up of one or more 'encounters'. In several 'quests' made up of more than one 'encounter' a Lieutenant is only present on the map for some of the 'encounters'.  The rules for relics states: "If the overlord has no lieutenant in a given quest, ... he receives no benefit for the relic's abilities."  In that rule, is the word "quest" meant to be the word "encounter" or are relic abilities available during encounters that do not contain a lieutenant as long as the lieutenant appears in one of the quest's encounters?

 

Thanks for the ruling.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It should probably be "encounter," although it's worth noting that only LTs (or heroes) can equip relics, and a relic, as an item, does need to be equipped in order to be used.  So, even if you choose to believe the relic "exists" in the encounter that has no LT, there's no one the OL can give that relic to in order to use its abilities anyway.

 

Some people argue, not without merit, that the OL must choose his relics for each LT at the beginning of the quest, even though they won't come into play until the second encounter if the corresponding LT is not in play for the first.

Edited by Steve-O

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i'll just post it in here:

 

if i play, lets say cardinals plight, 2nd encounter - i do get to choose sir merrick farrow, lets say equipped with the fortunas dice.

 

he wont be present on the map till the door to the library is opened (the second wave)

i still get to use the fortunas dice every turn, right?

even if farrow is not on the map?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

if i play, lets say cardinals plight, 2nd encounter - i do get to choose sir merrick farrow, lets say equipped with the fortunas dice.

 

he wont be present on the map till the door to the library is opened (the second wave)

i still get to use the fortunas dice every turn, right?

even if farrow is not on the map?

 

Correct. (I have it on authority from FFG, though I haven't gotten around to posting it on the official FFG Sez)

 

If the lieutenant is present in the quest but not yet placed (due to quest rules) relics with effects not related to movement/actions/whatever of that lieutenant may be used (such as Bones of Woe).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0