Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Morithain

Ithilien Pit

Recommended Posts

The wording on this card is confusing me.  When an enemy gets this attached to him, does that mean anybody can attack him immediately, or do you have to wait until the combat phase?  Does it mean that from now on that enemy can be attacked by basically anyone--as if everyone suddenly had the ranged keyword for that enemy?  Or what?  Not sure how to use this card.  

 

Thanks for any help on this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You have to wait till the combat phase to attack the enemy as normal, but the enemy can be attacked by all players regardless of who it is engaged with or even if it remains in the staging area

For example player 1 plays ithilien pit, during staging, Enemy X is revealed from the encounter deck and becomes attached to the pit. Enemy X has an engagement cost of 40. Players 1 and 2 have respective threats of 20 and 30 and elect not to optionally engage any enemies leaving enemy X in the staging area. During the combat phase both players 1 and 2 may attack and kill enemy x

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Daaaaamn.  That's wicked.  That's going into my mono-Lore deck NOW.    Thanks!

 

My next question is how does this combine with Ranger Spikes, and Ithilien Tracker?  Do they distribute to the next eligible enemy or all attach to the same enemy that shows up.  I mean, If Pit and Spikes are in the staging area and the Ithilien tracker is using his ability, enemy X shows up.  Do the pit AND the spikes get him, and his threat (if there is any after the -2 from the spikes) reduced?  Or does the pit get him, then the spikes get the next enemy, then the 3rd enemy gets his threat nullified by the tracker (or whatever order determined by first player)?

 

Thanks.

Edited by Morithain

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Everything would go on the first enemy. Subsequent enemies would not be affected. Which is awesome if you reveal a Mumak or something, but if it ends up being like bats or crows it can sometimes be a waste

 

If I remember correctly attachments can't be played on Mamuk's

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Everything would go on the first enemy. Subsequent enemies would not be affected. Which is awesome if you reveal a Mumak or something, but if it ends up being like bats or crows it can sometimes be a waste

 

If I remember correctly attachments can't be played on Mamuk's

 

 

you're right, it was just the first enemy i thought of and i forgot its text. 

 

so um it would all go on some random orc then

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a different question about this card:

 

Would each player need to wait until their own attack phase to attack it, or is it like Ranged where you can assign your own attackers even if it's not your attack phase? I can't find any rules that would clarify this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a different question about this card:

 

Would each player need to wait until their own attack phase to attack it, or is it like Ranged where you can assign your own attackers even if it's not your attack phase? I can't find any rules that would clarify this.

 

I believe you would need to wait until your own attack phase.  Ranged in the rulebook specifically states:

 

A character with the ranged keyword can be declared 

by its controller as an attacker against enemies that are 
engaged with other players. A character can declare 
ranged attacks against these targets while its owner is 
declaring attacks, or it can participate in attacks that are 
declared by other players
 
The first sentence falls in line with the effect of ithilien pit whereas the second sentence does not and seems unique to ranged

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, I sent the question into FFG and Caleb clarified that you do, indeed, have each player do their own attacks against the enemy during their own attack windows. Sad. This card would be much more powerful if every player could attack at the same time, but it's still powerful, especially since we can attack it even if it's in the staging area.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/5/2013 at 1:48 PM, Morithain said:

The wording on this card is confusing me.  When an enemy gets this attached to him, does that mean anybody can attack him immediately, or do you have to wait until the combat phase?

That was my first question as well.  Sounds like this card would be more useful in multi-player games (or multi-handed games) than in true solo.  Probably only worth having if the scenario has a difficult enemy with high engagement cost.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...