Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
pyrefly1986

Shield of Zorek's favor

10 posts in this topic

My group and I are having a dispute about this item.

 

The text reads:

 

"Each time an attack targeting this lieutenant is resolved and he is not defeated, he tests [might]. If he passes, the attacker suffers 1 [heart] for each [shield] rolled on this test"

 

My group says this is ability is too Overpowered the way I am running it and it is impossible for them to win at this point.

 

My ruling on the card is that any time someone targets the lieutenant, hit or miss, complete block or full damage, the overlord gets to test his lieutenan'ts [might] to see if he causes damage back. The only loop hole I see is if a attack causes blast damage next to the lieutenant would be the only way to avoid the use of this artifact.

 

Am I wrong in my ruling in that the player should at least cause some damage to activate this artifacts "thorn-like" attack?

 

Thoughts??, and thank you

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is no mention of the obligation of damage to be scored for Zorek's shield to harm the attackers.

The only condition is the resolution of an attack (whatever the effect).

The only occasion where I would say the relic does not work is when a "X" is rolled, as the attack is not resolved in such a case.

Edited by Robin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But, the player targeted the lieutenant, he rolled the attack, he missed (X)...attack resolved, shield activates...

 

He targeted him and attacked. I don't see anywhere in the rules where a X does not resolve the attack

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your interpretation seems correct to me, Pyrefly.  I see no reason why a miss or blocked damage would result in an attack not being resolved.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is not an effect of an attack though, but rather a separate effect triggered by the resolution of an attack.  In the case of an X, the attack is resolved as a miss and further effects such as regaining fatigue from surges generated from the roll are ignored.  However, this ability is separate from the attack roll results and should be triggered regardless.

Edited by AltWren

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the sheild would discourage heroes from hitting him. Isn't that the point since the sheild it's self doesn't help block anything in of it's own? I think it should effect even if the attack missed. He was the target.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I understand the shade between miss and not resolved.
p. 10 of the rules say : "If an X is rolled on the blue attack die, the attack is considered a miss and all other results are ignored."

The problem, for me, is that the X seems to ask that any other results (including shields rolled by the defender) are ignored.

But I definitely don't have the absolute answer to the question (especially as I seem to be in the minority). ;) 
I would consider it an interesting question to ask FFG about.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I understand the shade between miss and not resolved.

p. 10 of the rules say : "If an X is rolled on the blue attack die, the attack is considered a miss and all other results are ignored."

The problem, for me, is that the X seems to ask that any other results (including shields rolled by the defender) are ignored.

But I definitely don't have the absolute answer to the question (especially as I seem to be in the minority). ;) 

I would consider it an interesting question to ask FFG about.

 

The thing is, you are correct, the attack is considered a miss. Nothing further happens with the attack. It's done. It has resolved. 

Now, an attack has resolved against the lieutenant equipped with the Shield of Zorek's Favor. The attack did not defeat him, and now the effect on the shield begins. (Test might, and if the lieutenant passes, the attacker takes hearts equal to the shields rolled for the test, not the defense roll.)

 

Robin13 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I understand the shade between miss and not resolved.

p. 10 of the rules say : "If an X is rolled on the blue attack die, the attack is considered a miss and all other results are ignored."

The problem, for me, is that the X seems to ask that any other results (including shields rolled by the defender) are ignored.

But I definitely don't have the absolute answer to the question (especially as I seem to be in the minority). ;) 

I would consider it an interesting question to ask FFG about.

 

The thing is, you are correct, the attack is considered a miss. Nothing further happens with the attack. It's done. It has resolved. 

Now, an attack has resolved against the lieutenant equipped with the Shield of Zorek's Favor. The attack did not defeat him, and now the effect on the shield begins. (Test might, and if the lieutenant passes, the attacker takes hearts equal to the shields rolled for the test, not the defense roll.)

Ah I now see.

Thanks for the explanations !

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0