Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
DescentNoodle

Tomble and champion and a simple question

8 posts in this topic

Playing with my son... He doesn't like when things get crazy.

His shadow dragon attacks with fire breath my champion and Tomble. Champion first.

Champion adds two gray dice to his defense pool. So his defense pool for this attack is 4 gray and one brown. (Chain mail).

Tomble's hero ability says add the defense pool of that hero to your own. When I said whoah, that's 5 gray and a brown. My son said No way! I let him have his way and told him I'd check....

This is how it works, right?

Also, is the diaciple able to give his shield to another player... I assume so...

Ok... One more please... Between encounters can I switch weopons for free... We thought yes... Not in the heat of battle just swap! Ie my disciple found the rage blade. Between encounters can he give his shield and blade to my champion?

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would say what you did with Tomble is definitely allowed.  Very strong but allowed.  However if you need verification feel free to send an official question to FFG.  I must say there support is incredible and very fast! 

 

Do not think you get free swap between encounters.  Also note that starting gear may never be traded. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, you would add the Champions defense pool (Which now consists of 4 gray defense die and 1 brown defense die.) to Tomble Burrowell's defense pool. The reason for this is because the skill 'For the Cause' adds the die to your defense pool for the attack. Not only allowing him to roll an additional gray defense die for each valor spent. 

 

For the Disciple, if it is shield that he began the game with, (The one with Disciple printed on the back of the card.) it cannot be traded.

 

On page 15 of the Rules of Play booklet (Trading Items) it states;

'Heroes cannot trade class cards (including their starting equipment) with each other.

 

If it is a regular shop deck acquired shield, it may be traded as normal, per trading rules.

 

The group I play with has been allowing the ability to swap items and equipment in between encounters between heroes in any way we see fit. (As long as it is not illegal to trade the item, for example; class cards.) However, I am unable to locate an actual rule that allows this in the Rules of Play booklet, I will update this if I do so. 

 

If you are not actually allowed to trade in between encounters, you're able to just swap on your first move action, so it's not that much of a difference in the end.

Edited by SouLx

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Recently I had something similar come up with Tomble and we played it wrong because it just seemed overpowered. I had successfully argued that it wasn't a direct attack with the fire breath. Needless to say that was the wrong play and Tomble can be the most beefiest armor bearing thief if he is positioned close to the right hero. I don't even attack Tomble anymore when he is in overcharged range as I like to think of it. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tomble's hero ability says add the defense pool of that hero to your own. When I said whoah, that's 5 gray and a brown. My son said No way! I let him have his way and told him I'd check....

This is how it works, right?

 

Yes, this is correct.

 

 

Ok... One more please... Between encounters can I switch weopons for free... We thought yes... Not in the heat of battle just swap! Ie my disciple found the rage blade. Between encounters can he give his shield and blade to my champion?

 

You cannot trade items in between encounters, but you can freely trade items in between quests if you're playing the Campaign Game.

 

As SouLx points out, you can just trade at the beginning of the second encounter if you really want to.  As long as both heroes are adjacent and one of them is willing to start off with a Move action, he can then give AND receive items from the other hero freely.

 

You can never trade class-specific starting gear, though.  Kind of silly, but thems the rules.  You could house-rule otherwise if you wanted to.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tomble's hero ability says add the defense pool of that hero to your own. When I said whoah, that's 5 gray and a brown. My son said No way! I let him have his way and told him I'd check....

This is how it works, right?

 

Yes, this is correct.

In that case Tomble is not attacked, he affected by an attack and imo cannot add diced.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

In that case Tomble is not attacked, he affected by an attack and imo cannot add diced.

 

Refer to this thread; http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/86757-tombles-heroic-ability-and-firebreathing/ (Tomble's Heroic Ability and Firebreathing)

It clarifies in here that it is legal. (Post number 13 specifically.)

 

 

Thanks for info.

 

Looks like right now there is 3 definitions:

- Targeted (you are the main target)

- Affected (you are the secondary target)

- Attacked (you are targeted or affected by an attack)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0