Sign in to follow this  
Pyrus

Equivalent to "Weapon Finesse"?

Hey there, scoundrels and miscreants. I'm extremely new to this Star Wars system, and I don't have full access to the book. (My roommate has a copy, which I have fairly good access to, but not total.) My question, as should be obvious from the subject, is whether or not there is a way to emulate the features of the "weapon finesse" ability from other games. All of the melee attacks appear to be Brawn based, without much regard for more "precision" based styles. This is fine for the most part, but it leaves a little to be desired if you are looking to create a quick-stepping vibrorapier-wielding pirate captain, instead of a more "hulk smash!" sort of combatant.

TL;DR version:

Do any talents allow use of Agility for the Brawl/Melee skills instead of Brawn? Still using Brawn to compute damage, of course.

However, if you had a player that REALLY wanted to do it, and gave you a compelling reason, and was using a weapon that could feasibly be used with a more dextrous combat style, feel free to make a custom Finesse melee weapon skill that works with certain weapons.  I plan on doing that with smaller melee weapons/brawl checks if people really want it.

Appreciate the quick answers, guys.

In regards to house-ruling things... I wonder if it would be easier to work in a custom skill, or just tag certain weapons as using player choice of Brawn or Agility. Either way, I'll consult with our soon-to-be GM on the matter and see what we can bang out. 

Again, thanks!

I would probably just tag certain weapons as finesse weapons and allow either brawn or agility as the stat. That is basically what they have done with the lightsaber.

This question did occur to me as well when I was thinking about including noghri.

Appreciate the quick answers, guys.