Sign in to follow this  
jez79

Horrible monster token customization accident!

Hi folks,
This is my first post on this website. I'm a teacher and musician from Canada. Arkham Horror and Mansions of Madness brought me to this website, for information on the rules and customization ideas for storage, play and longevity of the components.
I've spent the last two weeks of my summer vacation making an epic storage system for AH, I'm almost done (putting on final coats of polyurethane this afternoon).
While waiting for the coats to dry, I'm wrapping up a few other customization items (sewing dice and monster bags is one). I decided to paint the sides of the monster tokens. Piling them all on the desk I tried to find a way to speed up the painting process. I stacked a bunch in a pile squeezed them tight and painted the sides all at once.

pic1728510_t.jpg

The paint bled into the cardboard, and the moist cardboard made all the tokens stick together!! I had to pry them apart and rip up each face... You can't imagine how my heart sank, especially after putting in like a hundred hours on this custom storage system.... I repainted the edges to try and cover up the torn white cardboard. Some tokens are worse than others, but I think they have been salvaged overall.

pic1728524_t.jpg

pic1728525_t.jpg

They look snappy with the colored edge, but it seems I will have to do them individually one by one. sigh.

pic1728526_t.jpg

I was planning to clear coat all the tokens to protect them, but I'm concerned about humidity and cadboard curling now that I've seen how paint takes to it. Perhaps a coat of diluted white glue would seal the cardboard shut before spraying sealant on (krylon low odor clear matte).

I am looking forward to posting pictures and a narrative about this epic storage system. So many good ideas already out there; I was inspired by http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/714563/arkham-horror-casemod..., crafthulhu and others.