Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
TheHunterBoy

mixing (mini)expansions

10 posts in this topic

First of all: 2Ed is great!

Then the question is : LoW and the Trollfens are intended to be added (BOTH) to a main campaign or only one of them per campaign?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

LotW can be used in addition to wither campaign. I am not sure about Trollfens, but I am guessing this will also be true. I am not sure if it's a one or the other kind of addition, but I don't see why a group couldn't play both, if Trollfen adds to the rumor deck.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well considering FFG logic I kinda can see a pattern. They made a core box and expansion; Shadow Rune + Lair of the Wyrm expansion. Also this was a large box and a small box. Lair of the Wyrm included rumor cards to mix them with Shadow Rune

 

Then they came with Labyrinth of Ruin and this was a "big" box and had a main quest and no rumor cards. This was a seperate campaign all togheter.

 

Trolfens is gonna be a small box and so I dare to speculate that they will have some rumor cards to implement them with the core campaign Shadow Rune.

 

Also when we look at it logical it would make sense to add with each expansion rumor cards. Why? Cos you have to have the core game but they can't oblige you to purchase all expansions. So if you have the core game and only wanna purchase Trolfens as an expansion, this should match perfectly. Both in campaign as in rules obviously.

 

So they either put in a rumor card to merge Trolfens with  the Shadow Rune or they make Trolfens a complete solo campaign (like with Labyrinth of Ruin). I would prefer a combination of both :-)

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would pick up Trolfens just for the rumor cards. I really like the flavor they add and they seem to fit in perfectly. I got to pull the one where the heroes buy upside down cards at a discount during the shop phase. Just to watch them discuss the temptations of the mystery box was hilarious. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I fully expect that Trollfens (and any future small box expansions) will be combinable with any large box Campaign, in the same way that Lair can be combined with either Shadow Rune or Labyrinth of Ruin.  I'm reasonably confident that all small boxes will also be playable as a "mini-campaign" the same way Lair of the Wyrm can be played as a "mini-campaign."

 

Whether two (or more!) small boxes can be added to a single large box Campaign remains to be seen.  It could go either way, but I'm leaning towards "probably not."  Just because eventually all the extra Act I quests these things add will completely break the character progression mechanic.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I expect that after I get Trollfens, I'll incorporate most components of it into my base game, but whenever we do a large campaign (Shadow Rune or Labyrinth of Ruin, at this point) I'd do only one small box worth of side quests. But I'd have no qualms playing my hybrid sentinels in Trollfens quests, though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I expect that after I get Trollfens, I'll incorporate most components of it into my base game, but whenever we do a large campaign (Shadow Rune or Labyrinth of Ruin, at this point) I'd do only one small box worth of side quests. But I'd have no qualms playing my hybrid sentinels in Trollfens quests, though.

 

Yeah, when I talk about probably not being able to combine two small boxes into one campaign, I'm mostly referring to the quests.  Monsters, classes, heroes, et al are definitely fair game in any combination.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm thinking they will be able to be played together.  The quests are added through rumor cards, and the OL only gets three, so playing multiple expansions will reduce the chances of the right rumors showing up to start the quests.  You might put all the expansions it, but only draw the cards to start Lair.  If anything is limited, they will probably just say you can only add one additional quest an Act and to discard and redraw rumors, like the Lair cards already do.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well I don't know on page 3 of Lair of worm rule book (1.) it reads "Be sure there is only one copy of "secret passage" in search deck (if playing with other exspansions)". So I'm thinking you can. Seems since small exspansions have the "secret room card" there saying if you do make sure you have only one in search deck.

But I agree seems like that might break some mechanics of development.

Edited by Silverhelm

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whether two (or more!) small boxes can be added to a single large box Campaign remains to be seen.  It could go either way, but I'm leaning towards "probably not."  Just because eventually all the extra Act I quests these things add will completely break the character progression mechanic.

I believe that somewhere on this forum (unfortunately I can't remember where off the top of my head), someone posted an email from FFG stating that using the side-quests during a regular campaign didn't grant any XP if it wasn't explicitly stated in the quest rewards; this being counter to the "1 XP / player, win or lose" rule. Granted, they could still receive Gold / Relics, but that would be, at most, 2 extra quests per act, assuming the OL drew just the right cards. Is that enough to really break character progression? Hard to say.

Drasai likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0