Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
rpgplayer88

Mana Weave question

7 posts in this topic

Mana weave add the surge result after rolling attack die but didn't specified to which player. So does this assumes it can be used by an equipped mana weave player on other player's attack die?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Usually, any surge benefit applies to the figure using it.

If no precision is given, I don't think I would add the surge to another hero than the one who equips it (and who rolls attack dice).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My players argue it because other cards have the wording "your dice roll" and since this one doesn't, could be applied on any attacking die.

 

If they are right, then they can use, exhaust it, then it became refreshed when the equipped player start his turn which disfavour the OL pretty much.

Edited by rpgplayer88

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's the text on the card, for reference:

 

"After rolling attack dice, exhaust this card to add 1 Surge to the results."

 

Your hero players argue that the lack of the word "after you roll attack dice" means they can use it on any attack roll.  I would counter by pointing out that it also doesn't say "you may exhaust this card."  Therefore I, as OL, may exhaust your Mana Weave to add a surge to my attack roll, assuming you are ever foolish enough to leave the card refreshed into my OL turn.

 

You can email FFG if you want an official answer, but I'm reasonably certain that the intent is the hero who has it equipped must be the one rolling attack dice.

Robin13 and Kunzite like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's the text on the card, for reference:

 

"After rolling attack dice, exhaust this card to add 1 Surge to the results."

 

Your hero players argue that the lack of the word "after you roll attack dice" means they can use it on any attack roll.  I would counter by pointing out that it also doesn't say "you may exhaust this card."  Therefore I, as OL, may exhaust your Mana Weave to add a surge to my attack roll, assuming you are ever foolish enough to leave the card refreshed into my OL turn.

 

I have former magic players in my group that pull apart wording. I just might have to use this, if you don't mind. Firepower for the less argumentative OL. >[

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Here's the text on the card, for reference:

 

"After rolling attack dice, exhaust this card to add 1 Surge to the results."

 

Your hero players argue that the lack of the word "after you roll attack dice" means they can use it on any attack roll.  I would counter by pointing out that it also doesn't say "you may exhaust this card."  Therefore I, as OL, may exhaust your Mana Weave to add a surge to my attack roll, assuming you are ever foolish enough to leave the card refreshed into my OL turn.

 

I have former magic players in my group that pull apart wording. I just might have to use this, if you don't mind. Firepower for the less argumentative OL. >[

 

 

There's a reason the only good lawyer is the one at the bottom of the ocean.  I refuse to play with "lawyers" who nit pick and analyze the English language (of what passes for it on FFG's cards).  Takes all the fun out of the game.

Robin13 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Here's the text on the card, for reference:

 

"After rolling attack dice, exhaust this card to add 1 Surge to the results."

 

Your hero players argue that the lack of the word "after you roll attack dice" means they can use it on any attack roll.  I would counter by pointing out that it also doesn't say "you may exhaust this card."  Therefore I, as OL, may exhaust your Mana Weave to add a surge to my attack roll, assuming you are ever foolish enough to leave the card refreshed into my OL turn.

 

I have former magic players in my group that pull apart wording. I just might have to use this, if you don't mind. Firepower for the less argumentative OL. >[

 

 

There's a reason the only good lawyer is the one at the bottom of the ocean.  I refuse to play with "lawyers" who nit pick and analyze the English language (of what passes for it on FFG's cards).  Takes all the fun out of the game.

 

 

Sometimes I need it. Other times I want to throw them across the room. It comes full circle. I'm not really the most stright forward OL which leaves them fussy.

 

But yes, if someone nit-picked that bad I might have to walk away.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0