Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
player266669

How many maneuvers to go from engaged w/ ally to medium?

11 posts in this topic

Just trying to make sure i have my head wrapped all the way around this, because spacial visualization is not my strong suit...

 

If my character begins his turn engaged with an ally, and then I want to move to medium range from that same ally, that would cost 1 maneuver, correct?

 

Emirikol likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 maneuver:

 

1 from Engaged to Short

1 from Short to Medium

 

EDIT: Humm, engaged with an Ally? I'm not sure anymore....

Edited by aljovin
Emirikol likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unless the ally is swinging a club at your noggin, it shouldn't be hard to "disengage" from them. I think any notion that disengaging from an enemy might take longer is thanks to the fact that you have to back up carefully out of stabbing/bashing/headbutting range before you can safely turn tail and vamoose.

I've seen and pondered some discussion that it takes a maneuver just to disengage and then you can move to short, which would vastly change the flow of combat. Many games feature such a caveat.

Edited by Mark It Zero
Emirikol likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 maneuver:

 

1 from Engaged to Short

1 from Short to Medium

 

EDIT: Humm, engaged with an Ally? I'm not sure anymore....

If you're engaged with an ally, you're stuck.  It takes a lawyer to disengage.

aljovin likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This exact subject was brought up at the Warhammer FRG board. The answer from FFG was it does not take a maneuver to disengage an Ally. The Star Wars Edge of the Empire Beta (pg. 131) also states no maneuvers are required to disengage an Ally. I am assuming this as not changed in the Core Rulebook (Sorry, don't have my copy yet!)

 

So the answer to your question is: It would only take 1 maneuver to go from an engaged Ally to medium range. You would be going from engaged to close range (no cost), then from close to medium range (cost 1 Maneuver.) 

 

Hope that helps! :)

Edited by ValiantOne

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This exact subject was brought up at the Warhammer FRG board. The answer from FFG was it does not take a maneuver to disengage an Ally. The Star Wars Edge of the Empire Beta (pg. 131) also states no maneuvers are required to disengage an Ally. I am assuming this as not changed in the Core Rulebook (Sorry, don't have my copy yet!)

 

So the answer to your question is: It would only take 1 maneuver to go from an engaged Ally to medium range. You would be going from engaged to close range (no cost), then from close to medium range (cost 1 Maneuver.) 

 

Hope that helps! :)

 

That's what I figured.

 

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This exact subject was brought up at the Warhammer FRG board. The answer from FFG was it does not take a maneuver to disengage an Ally. The Star Wars Edge of the Empire Beta (pg. 131) also states no maneuvers are required to disengage an Ally. I am assuming this as not changed in the Core Rulebook (Sorry, don't have my copy yet!)

 

So the answer to your question is: It would only take 1 maneuver to go from an engaged Ally to medium range. You would be going from engaged to close range (no cost), then from close to medium range (cost 1 Maneuver.) 

 

Hope that helps! :)

 

Pages 202-203 of the CB. It's a subsection nicely titled Engage or Disengage from an opponent. It further clarifies, as the last line in the entry, "[c]haracters do not need to perform this maneuver to leave an engagement consisting only of friendly characters or allies."

 

So to answer the OP, 1 maneuver to go from engaged to an ally to medium range.

 

-EF

ValiantOne likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This exact subject was brought up at the Warhammer FRG board. The answer from FFG was it does not take a maneuver to disengage an Ally. The Star Wars Edge of the Empire Beta (pg. 131) also states no maneuvers are required to disengage an Ally. I am assuming this as not changed in the Core Rulebook (Sorry, don't have my copy yet!)

 

So the answer to your question is: It would only take 1 maneuver to go from an engaged Ally to medium range. You would be going from engaged to close range (no cost), then from close to medium range (cost 1 Maneuver.) 

 

Hope that helps! :)

I think this is ever so slightly wrong.  It is not "no cost" to go from engaged to close of an ally.  Moving to a different part of close range from any target, friend or foe, is one maneuver.  Engaged is a specific location within close.  But it would only take one maneuver to go from engaged with an ally to medium.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

This exact subject was brought up at the Warhammer FRG board. The answer from FFG was it does not take a maneuver to disengage an Ally. The Star Wars Edge of the Empire Beta (pg. 131) also states no maneuvers are required to disengage an Ally. I am assuming this as not changed in the Core Rulebook (Sorry, don't have my copy yet!)

 

So the answer to your question is: It would only take 1 maneuver to go from an engaged Ally to medium range. You would be going from engaged to close range (no cost), then from close to medium range (cost 1 Maneuver.) 

 

Hope that helps! :)

 

Pages 202-203 of the CB. It's a subsection nicely titled Engage or Disengage from an opponent. It further clarifies, as the last line in the entry, "[c]haracters do not need to perform this maneuver to leave an engagement consisting only of friendly characters or allies."

 

So to answer the OP, 1 maneuver to go from engaged to an ally to medium range.

 

-EF

 

 

Thanks for providing the Core Rulebook stance on this! I can't wait to get my copy... :)

 

I think this is ever so slightly wrong.  It is not "no cost" to go from engaged to close of an ally.  Moving to a different part of close range from any target, friend or foe, is one maneuver.  Engaged is a specific location within close.  But it would only take one maneuver to go from engaged with an ally to medium.

 

 

Interesting. I think that is what I said... The "no cost" is only applicable to ALLY disengagement, not enemy disengagement... Does that clear it up for you?   :)

Edited by ValiantOne

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Instead of thinking of Engaged as its own distance, think of it under the subheading of close range.  You are only engaged with something if you are close enough to interact with it, and you only need to make a special maneuver to get away from it if it is actively trying to prevent that from happening, or would do something bad to you if you showed your back to it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0