Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Murko

Rules clarification

11 posts in this topic

Hello, i am new to rogue trader space combat, so i have a question. Sorry if it was covered before, but i did not find answer anywhere.

 

When you fire multiple macrobateries in single salvo how to calculate damage? You make single BS test and when you aquire 4 success it means that you hit with both macrobateries 4th times? Can you make an example for me please?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Let's take the basic example. You have 2 Dorsal Mars-Pattern Macrocannons that you elect to fire at the same target. You choose to fire them as a "salvo", granting you a +10 bonus to hit. With a Ballistic Skill of 70, you roll a 30 to get 4 degrees of successes, or 5 shots total. Normally a Mars-Pattern Macrocannon only has Strength 3, but because you are firing two in a salvo, you combine their totals and can thus theoretically score up to 6 hits.

 

Your enemy's void shields absorb 1 shot, but you still have 4 shots get through to cause damage. You then assign these 4 shots to the weapons used in the salvo (irrelevant since they're the same) and roll (1d10 +2) four times. With average rolls, you get a result of 30 which subtracting the target's armour of let's say 12 results in a total damage of 18 from your salvo.

 

Absolutely key point: The number of shots that hit are still equal to Success + Degrees of Success. You do not double or triple the number of shots just because you're firing in a Salvo.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

THX so much for reply, you are life saver. And if i have 2 different macrocannons, with different damages? Do I chose, which hits were landed first?

 

I did not find it anywhere in the rules that you get +10 BS when you fire salvo. Can anyone with BS fire macrocannons or is there some requirement like weapon training?

 

And I have one question about evasive maneuver. If I chose to fire first, and then use evasive maneuver do my fire action gets – BS? And may I fire, than move? Or moving first, then firring?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

THX so much for reply, you are life saver. And if i have 2 different macrocannons, with different damages? Do I chose, which hits were landed first?

 

I did not find it anywhere in the rules that you get +10 BS when you fire salvo. Can anyone with BS fire macrocannons or is there some requirement like weapon training?

 

And I have one question about evasive maneuver. If I chose to fire first, and then use evasive maneuver do my fire action gets – BS? And may I fire, than move? Or moving first, then firring?

 

Huh, I had thought that was in there but perhaps that was just a house rule we were playing with. The type of salvo mentioned in the book does not include any bonus to shooting, but it does say you can decide to salvo your weapons after you roll damage. Keep in mind that if you salvo you will get through armour easier, but you can only inflict a maximum of one critical hit. If you combine multiple weapons into a salvo then you can allocate what hit when (so the weaker Macrocannon will always, always, always take out the void shields first).

 

On Page 212 near the bottom the rules make it very clear that you are allowed to take actions in whatever order you want, so you may do a bunch of extended actions, do your shooting test and then move. However since Evasive Maneuvers says that both you and your enemies suffer a penalty to Ballistic Tests until the start of your next turn, I would say that if they choose Evasive Maneuvers they HAVE to make their roll to determine how well they're dodging and apply that penalty to their shooting action, but they do not actually have to make their movement until after shooting if they don't want to.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Erathia

You might have mixed it with shooting target at half the weapons range. Then you gain +10 to BS test to hit, and when you are shooting target at futher than weapon range (up to maximum of twice the range) you get -10 to BS tests.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thx so much for replies, but i have another question. This one is about moving. Must I move first, than can i turn 90 for frigates and raider and 45 for cruisers? Or can first turn, than make my movement. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On the same page I mentioned earlier (Page 212 of Core) they mention that ships can take their Extended, Movement and Shooting actions in any order, so on one turn you can move and shoot, then on the next turn you could shoot and move.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry:-D little missunderstanding here. English is not my native language so maybe i have done some mistake. My question was about turning around 45 degrees or 90 degrees. When ship does its movement and have for example 8 speed. At the begining of the movement phase i move ship 8 or 4 inches or squares, then i can turn ship for 90 or 45 degrees. My question is. Can i first turn my ship for 90 or 45 degrees and then make movement for full or half of movement?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0