Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
saiharris

Stealth Device wording

6 posts in this topic

It says "If you are hit by an attack, discard it".

 

Right, it seems clear enough in a way.

 

what happens if you are hit by a mine?

I presume an asteroid doesnt count as a hit then?

Does this need more clarity for what is and isnt a potertial attack? Im thinking if this ship is damaged by Darth Vader crew or whatever too... there is quite a lot of non-direct attack methods.

 

Opinions?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's pretty clear, an asteroid is not an attack, bombs aren't attacks, Darth Vader isn't an attack. The card states if you are HIT by an ATTACK.

A mine will not course you to lose stealth, that is not an attack.

Asteroids also do not attack.

APLs will not take stealth

Stealth is very well written as are the cards. If it does not say Attack or hit, stealth stays on.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Stealth device stays active because the enemy hasn't "seen you" yet. So you're just an invisible idiot running into things.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's not just the "attack" part, it's the "hit" part.

 

Page 12, Compare Results: If there is at least one uncanceled {Hit} or {Critical Hit} result remaining, the defender is considered hit.

 

I covered it in detail here: http://teamcovenant.com/buhallin/2013/04/08/hitting-a-stealth-device/

 

The short version is that "hit" explicitly means an attack roll which has at least one uncanceled {Hit} or {Critical Hit} result.  If it doesn't meet those conditions, it won't remove the Stealth Device.

 

Edit again: For an example on where the "hit" matters vs. just the "attack" part, consider Draw Their Fire.  If a ship with DTF and Stealth uses DTF to suffer a result, it's been damaged during an attack - but it wasn't hit, so the Stealth Device stays intact.

Edited by Buhallin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's not just the "attack" part, it's the "hit" part.

 

Page 12, Compare Results: If there is at least one uncanceled {Hit} or {Critical Hit} result remaining, the defender is considered hit.

 

I covered it in detail here: http://teamcovenant.com/buhallin/2013/04/08/hitting-a-stealth-device/

 

The short version is that "hit" explicitly means an attack roll which has at least one uncanceled {Hit} or {Critical Hit} result.  If it doesn't meet those conditions, it won't remove the Stealth Device.

 

Edit again: For an example on where the "hit" matters vs. just the "attack" part, consider Draw Their Fire.  If a ship with DTF and Stealth uses DTF to suffer a result, it's been damaged during an attack - but it wasn't hit, so the Stealth Device stays intact.

 

Also, to that point, if the ship with Stealth is the one that has an uncancelled crit that was taken away by DTF you still lose Stealth, even though you took no damage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0