Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
oreochan

Rule question about the necromancer.

6 posts in this topic

We have read over the rules over and over and checked the FAQs but we cant seem to find an answer to a question that was brought up. Heres the question. If the necromancer is standing next to his reanimate, he has both dark pact and corpse blast. If the necromancer uses corpse blast to blow up the reanimate can he also use dark pact to take the damage he would suffer and make the reanimate suffer as well. also, what happens if you have dark pact and you and your reanimte both get caught in the blast at the same time, can you still shove damage off of you and onto the reanimate?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My common sense would dictate that if you use corpse blast on your reanimate it would not be able to absord the damage you were taking, because in the process he would be destroyed before being able for the skill to come in and absorb the damage. 

If you get blasted together with your reanimate, i would say that you could shove the damage into your reanimate as long as you roll first the defence die and not the reanimate, since the reanimate could die because of the blast damage if your die roll "sucks" for the reanimate's defence. 

 

Hope this helps, if not surely someone else like Steve-O will give a more detailed response. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Which makes sence, the issue is more the wording on corpse blast itself which states that you dont remove the reanimate till after the attack is resolved.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Because the skill  Corpse Blast specifically says: "After the attack is resolved, the Reanimate is defeated." I would say you could use it in conjunction with Dark Pact.

 

Corpse Blast

Action: Perform an attack targeting your Reanimate's space with a Magic weapon. This attack gains Blast. You do not need range or line of sight to the space. After the attack is resolved, the Reanimate is defeated. (Cost: 1 Fatigue)

 

Dark Pact

Your Reanimate adds 1 additional brown die to its defense pool. Each time you suffer Heart, you may choose to have your Reanimate suffer all of the Heart instead. Each time your Reanimate suffers Heart, you may choose to suffer all of the Heart instead.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

By the Rules As Written the answer in both cases is "yes, you may shove damage to the Reanimate."  Because Dark Pact does not require the Necromancer to be targeted by the attack in question, it will work for things like Blast that merely "affect" figures as well.

I would be inclined to say that the line about removing the Reanimate after corpse Blast is over is more a "just in case the Reanimate wasn't defeated by the attack" clause.  If the reanimate is defeated by damage dealt from the attack, it would be removed in sequence shortly before the attack is completely resolved (not that you're ever likely to notice the difference in play.)  That said, all damage is dealt simulataneously AFAIK, so the Reanimate would still be around to take the Necro's share of the damage no matter what.

You can make house rules to the contrary if you really can't cope with that.  For my money, thematically speaking, it's magic.  Magic is not subject to the laws of physics (in fact, the primary purpose of magic is to defy the laws of physics), so "whatevs."

tadkil1 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

By the Book:

 

Because the Reanimate is not technically defeated until after the attack is resolved, and a blast attack is considered simultaneous you can shove the damage on to him.

 

If he was defeated before the attack was resolved, there would be no one to put the damage on.

Edited by Big Cigar

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0