Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
SleepyLynx

Magic ward + ambush

Recommended Posts

Magic ward: Choose an opponent's zone. Treat the printed text box of each unit in that zone as though it were blank (except for traits) until the end of the phase.

If I play (and successfully resolve) Magic Ward at the beginning of battlefield phase on an opponent zone that has a developent that is a unit with ambush keyword, can he/she still activate the card for ambush?

My belief is that ambush was triggered by a development and the development do not assume the identity of a unit until the ambush step has been done, so ambush may still be triggered by the opposing player (without the benefit of Action it may have after ambushing, of course).

Would avoid using Magic Ward till all is clarified ;) 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

if you play magic ward any time during the ballefield phase but before the ambush step the defender can't even trigger ambush because his units have no textbox

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

SleepyLynx is correct. The facedown developments aren't units, so their Ambush keyword isn't affected and can be used. Once they're faceup, they are units and affected by Magic Ward, so you can't use their Actions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...