Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
blackshirt

Darrel Simmonds special ability

5 posts in this topic

The photographer, (sorry if I spelt his name incorrectly) he is able to draw two location encounter cards in arkham and pick whichever he would deem beneficial. Now if he lands on a space where you can substitue an encounter for a specific encounter, (Bank, Police Station, Any store) would he be allowed to draw one card from the enounter deck and if it was a bad one instead use the encounter at that specific location?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nope. Darrell special ability says "When drawing location encounters in Arkham"; location special abilities are used "instead of drawing an encounter". Hence, if you go for the special ability, you don't draw cards, hence Darrell's ability can't be used; if you draw a card, you can't use the special ability of the location, but you are allowed to use Darrell's.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah. I believe the rule is that technically those special location abilities are not encounters themselves, but rather things done instead of an encounter, so if a rule affects encounters specifically, it does not affect special location abilities unless otherwise specified.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah. Ursala is especially good for locations that have some good encounters but many bad ones, like the Asylum and the Hospital.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0