Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Bomoo

"Finder's Keeper's"?

8 posts in this topic

Morthai said:

It is grammatical completely correct since it is a phrase which means "Who finds it, may keep it."

Yes, the phrase "Finders Keepers" means this; "Finder's Keeper's" is an example of incorrect apostrophe usage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

magicWALLIS said:

BOOM! FFG editors strike again.

The sad thing is that the game's already been printed and is now on the way here. If only they had revealed this card earlier, fans would've done the editors' jobs for them. Put up something like watermarked card and rulebook pdf proofs and get free grammar checking from FFG forums and BGG? Or hire someone with a better grasp of written Engrish, please.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That jumped out at me too.  You could maybe argue that the phrase is referring to possession so it should therefore have the apostrophes (i.e. the finder's item becomes the keeper's item).  But, they seem to be mistaking literal possession with grammatical possession.  The common sense interpretation of the phrase is merely labeling finders as keepers in general so the apostrophes are inappropriate.    

So, yeah, I'd agree that it's wrong, and jarringly so to be honest.  Furthermore, the dictionary agrees.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Einlanzer80 said:

That jumped out at me too.  You could maybe argue that the phrase is referring to possession so it should therefore have the apostrophes (i.e. the finder's item becomes the keeper's item).  But, they seem to be mistaking literal possession with grammatical possession.  The common sense interpretation of the phrase is merely labeling finders as keepers in general so the apostrophes are inappropriate.    

So, yeah, I'd agree that it's wrong, and jarringly so to be honest.  Furthermore, the dictionary agrees.  

Oh yeah, believe me, I tried to look at it from every angle. It might be more appropriate if it wasn't such a common phrase? It almost kinda makes sense, but I can't quite bring myself to think it wasn't a mistake of the kind all of us make from time to time. But what  I find disappointing is that not only did the original writer of this card not catch it but nobody who saw it thought to question the card title with "hey, are you sure you meant to put apostrophes here?"

No errors spotted in Trollfens thus far, however! Here's hoping my uncontrollable grammar nazi OCD won't force me to throw out any cards the next time around.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0