Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Natarko

Lothern Sea Master

Recommended Posts

As you might have guest, i have a question concerning the Lothern Sea Master. I couldnt find a satisfying answer in the rules or faq.

Here is the card text: …  Action: Deal x indirect damage to target opponent. X is the number of resource tokens  in this unit. Then, remove one resource token from this card.  …, i am not sure about.

If the opponent cancel all or part of the dealt damage, do i have to remove a token?

As the second sentence is a "then"-clause the first part  of the action has to be fullfilt in its entirely, right?

I hope, i could make the problem that i see clear.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The FAQ says :

"Dealt Damage (v1.1)

A unit has been dealt damage, if at 
least one damage is applied to it after 
damage cancellation effects occur 
during the Apply Damage step."
 
So you seem right : the "then" clause shouldn't be applied if all the indirect damage is cancelled. Still to be confirmed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The damage doesnlt have to be actually dealt to remove the token. Just like with Fists of Mork, even if the damage is cancelled to one of the players (or both) you can still put the card on top of your deck.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, as long as your Action of dealing indirect damage "goes off", the removal of token will still happen despite that those indirect damage was somehow cancelled by card effects like toughness or redirect damage etc.

But if the Action was cancelled by, say, Mage of Loec, then there's no act of dealing indirect damage at all (as the Action was cancelled), thereby preventing the "then"- claused token removal from happening.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

SleepyLynx said:

Yeah, as long as your Action of dealing indirect damage "goes off", the removal of token will still happen despite that those indirect damage was somehow cancelled by card effects like toughness or redirect damage etc.

But if the Action was cancelled by, say, Mage of Loec, then there's no act of dealing indirect damage at all (as the Action was cancelled), thereby preventing the "then"- claused token removal from happening.

If the whole Action is cancelled, the "then" clause isn't read at all ;). But I understand

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...