Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Krawallburste

specific questions

Recommended Posts

another round with my group - another set of questions that occured:

1) When Sahla (Conversion Kit) uses his heroic feat (Use at the start of your turn an choose a hero in your line of sight. Until the end of your turn, you may use any 1 of that hero's skills asif it were your own), does he just copy the skillcards of his allys? For example, if he targets a wildlander and uses Danger Sense, does he use his "owne" Danger Sense, or will the card of the wildlander get exhausted? Because he is using the card "as if" it were his, but it physically lies next to the wildlander, will it get exhausted there? 

also: i would logically suggest, that when sahla uses danger sense he will suffer any fatigue costs correlated with it - aint he?

2) A friend of mine tried himself on the overlord and wanted to outsmart us by Dark Charming Nanok, Dash and Frenzy him to bring havoc onto us.

I would say, this is an unjust doing. Dark Charm reads "If he fails, you may perform a move or attack actions with that hero AS IF HE WERE ONE OF YOUR MONSTERS this turn". As if he were one of your monsters just specifies, when to activate the hero, in my opinion it does not make him to one of the OL's monsters group for its Duration. Frenzy and Dahs read "Play this card when activating a monster during your turn". But you are activating a hero "as if your were activating a monster" dont you?

3) One of our players played a champion, when a timing question occured to us: A Hero uses the Champions "Worn Greatsword", suffers 1 fatigue to add  a surge to his attack. Since he hast rolled his attack dice yet (sword triggers before) he would use "Valor of Heroes" to discard a valor token for a +1 damage. Now "Stoic Resolve" would kick in, to allow him to recover 1 fatigue for discarding any valor. He Now discards the only 1 Fatigue he has on his Champion, the one he got right this turn.

This all happens before his attack. I'd say it is a legit move, since the active player decides timing questions occuring in his turn doesnt he? 

4) My group did steal the rule book from me crawling through it, looking for some nifty tricks, and found the Golden Rules on page 18. 

"Many Quest rules listed in the Quest Guide come in direct conflict with the rules found in the rulebook. The quest rules listed in the Quest Guide take precedence over the rules in this rulebook. Furthermore, some cards and abilities will come in direct conflict with the rules found in this rulebook and the Quest Guide. Cards and abilities take precedence over both the Quest Guide and this rulebook".

Now our object of question are NPC's treated as hero figures. My understanding is, that they do block line of sight for everyone and movement for the opposite party (since heroes trait them as hero figures, ergo freindly figures, which will allow movement, but block it for the OL). Now my Group argues, that this ruling is from the book - and since the quest guide reads "militiamen block movement and line of sight" (for example castle daerion) it overwrites the rulebook, since it has higher priority. I'd say, this is a drawback for the group, not for me as OL, but i got curious and had to pose it here!

 

TY all for ur patience and smart suggestions.

 

laters

 

Krawallbuerste

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The answer to #2 is in your question, although you highlighted the wrong part: "If he fails, you may perform a MOVE OR ATTACK action…" what you describe your OL doing was move AND attack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Krawallbürste said:

1) When Sahla (Conversion Kit) uses his heroic feat (Use at the start of your turn an choose a hero in your line of sight. Until the end of your turn, you may use any 1 of that hero's skills asif it were your own), does he just copy the skillcards of his allys? For example, if he targets a wildlander and uses Danger Sense, does he use his "owne" Danger Sense, or will the card of the wildlander get exhausted? Because he is using the card "as if" it were his, but it physically lies next to the wildlander, will it get exhausted there? 

also: i would logically suggest, that when sahla uses danger sense he will suffer any fatigue costs correlated with it - aint he?

While I don't believe there's an official ruling on this situation, I would agree with you - Sahla gains a copy of an ally's skill. When used, it does not exhaust the original owner's skill, but it does require Sahla takes the fatigue defined by the skill card.

Krawallbürste said:

2) A friend of mine tried himself on the overlord and wanted to outsmart us by Dark Charming Nanok, Dash and Frenzy him to bring havoc onto us.

I would say, this is an unjust doing. Dark Charm reads "If he fails, you may perform a move or attack actions with that hero AS IF HE WERE ONE OF YOUR MONSTERS this turn". As if he were one of your monsters just specifies, when to activate the hero, in my opinion it does not make him to one of the OL's monsters group for its Duration. Frenzy and Dahs read "Play this card when activating a monster during your turn". But you are activating a hero "as if your were activating a monster" dont you?

Justin Kemppainen of FFG staff has responded to a similar question as such: 

Overlord cards for the most part cannot chain during the Dark Charm move. Since he is treated as a monster, you could not pit trap him. Since his status of being "charmed" ends as soon as his attack resolves, he could not frenzy. However, something like Dark Might or Critical Blow would be perfectly viable.

See the BGG post here for the original question: http://boardgamegeek.com/article/11089269#11089269

Krawallbürste said:

3) One of our players played a champion, when a timing question occured to us: A Hero uses the Champions "Worn Greatsword", suffers 1 fatigue to add  a surge to his attack. Since he hast rolled his attack dice yet (sword triggers before) he would use "Valor of Heroes" to discard a valor token for a +1 damage. Now "Stoic Resolve" would kick in, to allow him to recover 1 fatigue for discarding any valor. He Now discards the only 1 Fatigue he has on his Champion, the one he got right this turn.

This all happens before his attack. I'd say it is a legit move, since the active player decides timing questions occuring in his turn doesnt he? 

I would agree that's a legitimate play. There isn't really a timing conflict here (as in two players wanting to perform conflicting moves at the same time); rather the single hero proceeds with a sequence of events in the order that best benefits him!

Krawallbürste said:

4) My group did steal the rule book from me crawling through it, looking for some nifty tricks, and found the Golden Rules on page 18. 

"Many Quest rules listed in the Quest Guide come in direct conflict with the rules found in the rulebook. The quest rules listed in the Quest Guide take precedence over the rules in this rulebook. Furthermore, some cards and abilities will come in direct conflict with the rules found in this rulebook and the Quest Guide. Cards and abilities take precedence over both the Quest Guide and this rulebook".

Now our object of question are NPC's treated as hero figures. My understanding is, that they do block line of sight for everyone and movement for the opposite party (since heroes trait them as hero figures, ergo freindly figures, which will allow movement, but block it for the OL). Now my Group argues, that this ruling is from the book - and since the quest guide reads "militiamen block movement and line of sight" (for example castle daerion) it overwrites the rulebook, since it has higher priority. I'd say, this is a drawback for the group, not for me as OL, but i got curious and had to pose it here!

You're correct in that unless otherwise specified, figures treated as heroes do not block movement for the heroes. Your friends are also correct in that figures will block both hero and monster movement when specified as such in the quest. Both villagers in Castle Daerion Encounter 1 and militiamen in Castle Daerion Encounter 2 are specified as "block[ing] movement and line of sight."

This does lead to a disadvantage for the heroes. Make sure that in Castle Daerion Encounter 2 you're playing with the Official FAQ errata so that heroes aren't blocked in at the very start. The latest version of the Official FAQ can be found here: http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_minisite_sec.asp?eidm=176&esem=4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×