Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
natanfk

About duplicates

Recommended Posts

I know they save a character from being killed or discarded, but in the manual, it seems to me that they only can do that when it's by an EFFECT of a card. 

Can they save a character from being killed, let's say, if the opponent wins a military challenge, and then instead of killing them, the players can just discard a duplicate?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 19 of the core rules:

"If one of your unique cards is about to be killed, discarded from play, or returned to your hand or deck, as a triggered “Response:” effect (see later), you may discard an attached duplicate to save the unique card from being killed, discard- ed, or returned to your hand or deck.

So yes - a dupe can save from any of those states 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And the FAQ has updated what duplicates can save from:

 

(4.2) Duplicates
The text from page 19 of the Rulebook should
read: “If one of your unique cards is about to
leave play, as a triggered ‘Response:’ effect,
you may discard an attached duplicate to
save the unique card from leaving play. This
includes, but is not limited to, an effect that
kills, discards, returns the card to hand, deck,
shadows, or removes the card from the game.”

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I've read it, but as my english is not very good, I thought you could only use the duplicate to save your card when it would be killed by an effect of another card, and not from a challenge

 

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes.  A duplicate can save from Military Claim, Deadly, Plot Effects, Event Cards, Character Abilities -- anything that would kill your character.  Do note that a duplicate cannot be used when the Effect says "Cannot Be Saved".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...