Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Esto

Ithaqua & Skill Check Re-rolls

14 posts in this topic

Ithaqua's Start of Battle text states: "Investigators must roll a die for every item they have, discarding the item on a failure". If you have something that says:  Any Phase: Once per turn, you can re-roll any Skill Check ---- can you take a re-roll in this case? I don't think you can, but I just want to make sure before I throw away my shotgun.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Skill checks are the ones that are based on your six adjustable stats. Those are the rolls that you can add dice to by using clues.

Any other roll (such as the roll to lose a Blessing or "roll a die and lose that much sanity") is not a skill check and can not be rerolled.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While we are on the subject of losing things, how do things like the derringer, which states it cannot be lost or stolen, interact with Ancient Ones like Ithaqua and Cthugha?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Esto said:

Ithaqua's Start of Battle text states: "Investigators must roll a die for every item they have, discarding the item on a failure". If you have something that says:  Any Phase: Once per turn, you can re-roll any Skill Check ---- can you take a re-roll in this case? I don't think you can, but I just want to make sure before I throw away my shotgun.

Tibs is correct. Anytime you are told to roll a die, or roll 2 dice, or roll 4 dice, etc, it is not a skill check and thus cannot be modified by any means (special abilities, clue tokens, etc). They also cannot be re-rolled by any means except for an investigator who has the Revised Anointed card or Sister Mary using her "bonus ability" to re-roll to keep her blessing.

 

Wolfgar said:

While we are on the subject of losing things, how do things like the derringer, which states it cannot be lost or stolen, interact with Ancient Ones like Ithaqua and Cthugha?

In this case, the items are not lost or stolen, they are discarded (destroyed). Items that cannot be lost or stolen are not immune to Ithaqua's or Cthugha's powers and you must still roll for it with Ithaqua or discard after using it against Cthugha.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Musha Shukou said:

Wolfgar said:

 

While we are on the subject of losing things, how do things like the derringer, which states it cannot be lost or stolen, interact with Ancient Ones like Ithaqua and Cthugha?

 

 

In this case, the items are not lost or stolen, they are discarded (destroyed). Items that cannot be lost or stolen are not immune to Ithaqua's or Cthugha's powers and you must still roll for it with Ithaqua or discard after using it against Cthugha.

Wrong.

FAQ, pag 10:

Q: Are weapons and items that can’t be lost or stolen immune to Ithaqua’s Start of Battle ability?
A: Yes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Cannot be lost or stolen" is already a pretty weak effect. It's nice to know that one of its few benefits is immunity to Ithaqua and Cthugha.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Considering the Derringer doesn't even clear Ithaqua's combat modifier by itself, it's somewhat…

 

…cold comfort.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wolfgar said:

Considering the Derringer doesn't even clear Ithaqua's combat modifier by itself, it's somewhat…

…cold comfort.

*facepalm*

Yeah, but a +3 gun at your side is better than no gun at all. No gun? Better hope your Fight goes up to at least 5!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Musha Shukou said:

Guess I shoulda read the FAQ again before answering… I was so sure, though…

Dont' worry buddy… the latest FAQ is both nightmarish and overwhelming…

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Manishtusu said:

Make sure you don't read it with less than 3 sanity!

I tried reading it with 2 Sanity and a Whiskey, but I don't think I retained much.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0