Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Krawallburste

Blast

7 posts in this topic

Got aquestion about blast and large monsters:

 

Scenario: a Shadow Dragon blocking a 2 spaces wide Tunnel, behind him 2 Goblin Archers. A mage attacks with a blast attack, targeting the shadowdragon. Can he now blast from any space that dragon contains (and affect the goblinarchers, which are normally out of sight), or can he only blast from the space he attacked, which are in line of sight (ergo the first 2 spaces of the tunnel)?

 

urs

 

krawallbürste

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You target a space you can see (and that has an enemy figure, no empty spaces) and Blast from that space. Gobbos behind the SD won't be affected since he can only see the first two spaces of the dragon.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought that blasts wouldn't need line of sight seeing as how if he had enough range and the blast radius was large enough to incorporate the goblins behind the Shadow Dragon, the goblins should still receive damage. I imagine it as if an explosion were to occur. If you can't see the explosion but were close enough, you'd still be hurt by it. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But in the example, Blast isn't big enough to hit the Gobbos:

 

GG

SD

SD

SD

XX

XH

With H being the hero, he can only target the bottom two SD spaces, meaning no way GG spaces are hit.

Drenos likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dam is correct.  An attack must target a specific space, and that space must contain an enemy figure.  The fact that the figure in the target space is a large monster which also occupies other spaces does not allow you to "slide" the blast radius backwards.  It remains centered on the single space you targeted, to which you must have Line of Sight.

You do not require LoS to the spaces adjacent to the target space (all of which are also affected by the attack because that's what Blast does,) however, in this case, all of those spaces are either empty or occupied by the Shadow Dragon.  The Shadow Dragon is, of course, only affected once by the attack, despite occupying three of the adjacent spaces as well as the target space.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0