Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
alemander

Ascension : Rivals/Enemies

6 posts in this topic

Can only one each of the Rival and Enemy Talents be taken at a time?  I could have sworn I read that somewhere in the Ascension book but cannot find it now for the life of me.  The example of Glavius Wroth makes it seem that you can have more than one of each at any time, but I was just certain I read somewhere that only one of each at a time.

 

~alemander

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's been a while since I had a copy of Ascension, so I'm a bit shaky on the rules, but I always interpreted it as you could have multiple Enemies, but only one Rival.

Don't quote me on that being official, but that was my take on it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From Ascension pg9 under the negative value advances heading is the following:

"Only one such advance of each kind (i.e., Rival and Enemy) may be taken by a Throne Agent, although an existing advance may be upgraded to a higher level, at which point the Rival becomes an Enemy instead. Therefore, a character may only have one Enemy and one Rival at a time, but the Enemy and the Rival may be different organisations. Naturally, the GM may ‘award’ more than one Rival or Enemy to a character as the campaign requires."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

dharkus said:

From Ascension pg9 under the negative value advances heading is the following:

"Only one such advance of each kind (i.e., Rival and Enemy) may be taken by a Throne Agent, although an existing advance may be upgraded to a higher level, at which point the Rival becomes an Enemy instead. Therefore, a character may only have one Enemy and one Rival at a time, but the Enemy and the Rival may be different organisations. Naturally, the GM may ‘award’ more than one Rival or Enemy to a character as the campaign requires."

Thank you!  I knew I read it somewhere.  Not sure how I missed it.  Thanks again!

~ alemander

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another question on this.  Do the Rival/Enemy Talents that are awarded by the GM, per what it says on page 9, grant the negative cost advance?  For example the GM awards Inquisitor X the Enemy (Inquisitor Y) Talent.  Does Inquisitor X get the -300?

~ alemander

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I 'd say no. It wea the players actions (read idiocy) that led to that advance being granted in the first place. As I wouldn't charge xp to give the player a Peer talent for which he would go to great lenghts to achieve.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0