Sign in to follow this  
gmanjkd

What are your opinions of The Edge of Night

Hi all, sorry if the answer to my question is already posted, i did a search but didn't find anything.  I'm about to finish the Winds of Change and plan to run The Edge of Night.  Does the adventure require a lot of prep work, fleshing out by the GM etc?  I've read over it a few months back, seamed great but that doesn't always mean the play experience will be good.  What has been your experience with this adventure?  Is this a challenging adventure to run?  I am new to published adventure and really want to run it but am concerned that I may not be up to the challenge yet.

Thanks

Gary

Sorry Gary I've not run it yet.  My only opinion on it is that the PCs hob-nob with nobles so they probably had not be the complete scum of the earth..hence, maybe better for a 2nd career crew.

jh

"Murder," announced Proctor Marple, the man appointed to maintain the law of the Citadel of Palesandre, "a murder most cruel", he declared to the stunned nobles, there assembled in the dead King's chamber. "But how was this ghastly deed done?" asked Finnorlay, the King's Privy Councillor.

"Felled by a poisoned cod-piece as he dressed for dinner," Marple replied, brandishing the offending garment high in the air.
~Warhammer - Bloodbath at Orc's Drift

We playtested it several years ago and it still remains my favourite adventure written by FFG.

There is some combat at the end but it is mostly social stuff and social climbing which made it really interesting. It really gives players who are not complete combat freaks a chance to shine and think beyond the normal.

It is also an adventure where the Perform a Maneuvre card can get a lot of use. It also gives players a chance to immerse themselves in the town of Ubersreik which is also fun.