Hanzzz

Dash and Frenzy

22 posts in this topic

We had a discussion yesterday about Frenzy and Dash:

Frenzy gives: 1 attack extra and Dash gives: 1 move extra

According to my friends you can use Frenzy and dash as any extra action you want.

For example: Play frenzy and use that to try to open a door 3 times (in the mascarate ball)

In my opinion you can't do that… You can try 2 times and attack 1 time. Same with dash: Try 2 times on the door and move 1 time

Respons about this please.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

FRENZY: Play this card when activating a monster during your turn. That monster may perform an additional attack action this turn in addition to its normal 2 actions.

DASH: Play this card when activating a monster during your turn. That monster may perform an additional move action this turn in addition to its normal 2 actions.

I think its clear that you can use for example FRENZY to ATTACK this turn and not use it as any other action for the moster right?
What part of the text is unclear for your friends?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We are dutch so "lost in translation" But I agree with you.

Other people with an oppinion?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

because the cards says: additional attack/move ACTION… there isn't a card that says "overlord gets an additional action"… because in my opion would lead to free use (how the overlord plays it in a situation),

since they don't speak about opening doors or testing attributes for opening doors. And a monster therefore allso uses his attack or move action to open/close the door. so they use the attack/move action as an….action.

In my opnion an additional attack or move action can be used allso as an action (open/close doors)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kaidreas said:

In my opnion an additional attack or move action can be used allso as an action (open/close doors)

In my opinion it cant be used as and action other that the one describe on the card, - attack or move.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kaidreas said:

since they don't speak about opening doors or testing attributes for opening doors. And a monster therefore allso uses his attack or move action to open/close the door. so they use the attack/move action as an….action.

Monsters do not use attack/move actions to open doors.  They use the "Open/Close Door" action to open doors, same as a hero does.  In the English rulebook, this is explained on page 11, I'm not sure if it's the same in Dutch.

Bottom line: neither Frenzy nor Dash allows a monster an additional attempt to open a door.  Neither "Attack" nor "Move" actions may be used for this purpose.  An "Attack Action" can ONLY be used to make a BASIC ATTACK (It can't even be used to make a special monster-specific ability that includes an attack, those are "Monster Actions") and a Move Action can ONLY be used to perform a Move.

FYI: If the quest requires an attribute test to open a door, that's a "Special Action" whose consequence is that the door ends up getting opened.  The details of which would be spelled out in the quest rules themselves.  You still can't use Attack or Move actions to do these things.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ke, thnx all.

the main problem is that we have an english rulebook. English isn't a big problem, but since it still isn't our "native language" it sometimes forms problems in interpreting the rules :D (a thing i've also noticed is that the rulebook can be pretty vague)

those interpretations lead the big discussions :D 

anyway thnx for the help! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kaidreas said:

a thing i've also noticed is that the rulebook can be pretty vague
Much less than you would believe it to be.

Typically the confusion about Dash and Frenzy (leading to see both cards as interchangeable) is not due to vague notions of the rulebook but sloppy reading by the players.

If one sticks to the wording of the rules, one usually finds the correct interpretation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, it must be something that's lost in translation because I've found that the rulebook leaves very little room for misinterpretation on important rules.

Case in point, we had a question raised about the 'blast' ability yesterday and the rulebook (literally) could not be clearer on that. One of my friends actually said "Wow. A lot of thought went into that wording. That could not be more clear cut". It's one reason I love FFG games. They obviously work very hard on their rulebook writing and editing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi everyone!

I have another additional question about dash and frenzy. Does overlord need to play these cards right after he activates a monster or he can for example perform one move action with a monster then atack and after play dash and perform another move action?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Iam sorry, english is not my native language and Iam not sure I understand this correctly, so by "during activation" you mean that these cards can be used at any moment of the monsters turn, not necessarily in the beginning?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

poet1001 said:

Iam sorry, english is not my native language and Iam not sure I understand this correctly, so by "during activation" you mean that these cards can be used at any moment of the monsters turn, not necessarily in the beginning?

Yes that's it.

The question was answered in the BGG FFG Sez thread and now is on the BGG wiki :

 

Q: When can we play "Dash" or "Frenzy"? When we first activate the monster before we take actions?

Or at any time while we are still activating said monster?

 

A: Those Overlord cards may be played at any point during a monster's activatio

 

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/10295609#10295609

http://boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Descent_Second_Edition_Unofficial_FAQ#toc49

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Guys i was wondering , can i play Dash first and then Frenzy on the same monster to get 2 main actions +1 move +1 attack = 4 actions ??? this would be interesting !!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is nothing to prevent that. Yep, definitely possible and actually not very uncommon.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

8 hours ago, topacesteve said:

Guys i was wondering , can i play Dash first and then Frenzy on the same monster to get 2 main actions +1 move +1 attack = 4 actions ??? this would be interesting !!!!

You think that's bad.. try using Dash + Frenzy on a monster with Ravage, followed by a Bloodrage at the end of your turn. Can combo even further with plot deck cards.. such as Tristayne's Explosive Fall.

That's 5 attacks with a single monster followed by a damaging explosion. Pick the right time and few heroes will survive!

Edited by Charmy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow ! , i should try thinking out of the box.... (Reynhart with Aurium Mail + Valyndras Bane here i come !!!!)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i didn't read very thoroughly but i think you are allowed 1 attack even with frenzy you are only allowed one attack, at least that is how we play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Houserules are OK, of course. However, the official rule set allows two attacks  with Frenzy for monsters without ravage and even three for monsters with ravage. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

On 7/18/2017 at 3:35 PM, Sadgit said:

Houserules are OK, of course. However, the official rule set allows two attacks  with Frenzy for monsters without ravage and even three for monsters with ravage. 

where?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, ATM2100 said:

 

where?

Ravage: Both of this monster's actions on a turn may be attack actions. (From card text)

Frenzy: The additional attack action does not count towards the monster’s limitation on the number of attacks per activation (See Community Rules Reference guide, page 62)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now