Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
player1697892

Zigil Mineshaft

8 posts in this topic

If I quest successfully and am in a position to place 3 progress tokens on Zigil Mineshaft, do I raise my threat level by 1 for each progress token I place on Zigil Mineshaft or do I raise it by 1 total for all 3 progress tokens? Also, if I place 3 progress tokens on it one turn and then am going to place more progress tokens on it the next turn, do I raise my threat level again?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you quest successfully, you don't have to raise your threat in order to place tokens on Zigil Mineshaft.

The text on that card reads "Action: Raise each player's threat by 1 to place 1 progress token on Zigil Mineshaft."  Because it is an Action, this means the players can trigger the effect at any time they choose to do so, as long as you are in an Action window (e.g., not during the staging step of the Quest phase, but after staging is complete and before quest resolution).  You can do this even if Zigil Mineshaft is in the staging area, it doesn't have to be the active location.

In order to use the Action, all players must raise their threat by 1.  You can do this 5 times to eliminate Zigil Mineshaft immediately, meaning if all players raise their threat by 5, the location has been explored and you can discard it from play.  I like to use the Cave Torch to put 3 tokens on this card, then raise each player's threat by 2 to finish it off.

hope that helped and wasn't more info than you were looking for!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Incidentally, the manual says Actions can only be triggered by that card's controller.  As nobody controls a location card, it seems like the card text actually can't be triggered.  Is anyone aware of some rules clarification that talks about this?  I didn't see anything when I looked at the FAQ just now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

probably just a minor detail that was overlooked…i cant think of any other location right now that doesnt have a forced or response on it

rich

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

richsabre said:

probably just a minor detail that was overlooked…i cant think of any other location right now that doesnt have a forced or response on it

rich

 

 

Dark Pit (SaF) - Refresh Action if active location;

Doors of Durin (TWitW) - Action;

Front Porch (OHaUH) - Action;

Merchant's District (TBoLT) - Travel Action;

Mithril Lode (FoS) - Refresh Action if active location;

Overgrown Trail (HoN) - Action;

Overhanging Rock (OHaUH) - Action if active location;

 

These are the ones that cardgamedb lists as having action on card text, apart Zigil Mineshaft…

 

As you can see, there is one from HoN

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

GrandSpleen said:

 

Incidentally, the manual says Actions can only be triggered by that card's controller.  As nobody controls a location card, it seems like the card text actually can't be triggered.  Is anyone aware of some rules clarification that talks about this?  I didn't see anything when I looked at the FAQ just now.

 

 

This was addressed in the KD rules insert (p.1):

"An 'Action:' on an encounter card in play may be triggered by any player, following normal restrictions on triggering abilites."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0