Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
donja

Aeron Damphair - Question about WHEN?

Recommended Posts

My playgroup has been playing with the expansion for a couple months now, and the same question keeps popping up with this card. Card text reads: "You may discard any number of your available Power tokens to increase the combat strength of this card by the number of Power tokens discarded."

Do you have to declare the number of tokens you are using when the card is flipped?

Example: Greyjoy is attacking Lannister and combat strength going into the House cards is tied, 2 to 2. Greyjoy has 10 Power tokens and Lannister has all his house cards.  Lannister decides to play Cerci with 1 Combat strength and Greyjoy plays Aeron.  Is Greyjoy able to see the Lanister card, then discard 2 tokens, or discard tokens simultaneous with the flip of the cards?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm pretty sure that both cards have to be revealed before their text takes effect. The cards' text has no effect until they are revealed in combat. Therefore, you spend the power after seeing your opponent's card and assessing how much power you need to spend to beat them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm pretty sure that both cards have to be revealed before their text takes effect. The cards' text has no effect until they are revealed in combat. Therefore, you spend the power after seeing your opponent's card and assessing how much power you need to spend to beat them.

 

Yes, that is correct.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...