Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
scarey33

Corner Movement

12 posts in this topic

Please clarify! Where two map peices are joined creating a thick black border line, which starts at an edge and ends inside a movement space (partially breaking its border so in that corner of the square, no two white border lines meet)….can a player move upwards diagonally from the space which is completely blocked at the top by the thick black border, to the space that is ketty-corner to it where that thick black border line ends inside?

I was not quite sure how to word this without visual aid. Hopefully this can be cleared up. Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

scarey33 said:

He can move diagonally to cover more ground. Players should note that the black edge of the map tile does not block diagonal movement around corners

- Official Rulebook

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A figure can move from one space ot any adjacent space that isn't occupied by an enemy figure or an obstacle.  According to the rulebook, the definition of "adjacent" is that the two spaces must share an edge or a corner (as defined by the white lines.)  Also note, a closed door breaks adjacency.

If the tile artwork has a thick black border without white lines inside and the join of the two tiles is such that there is no common edge or corner drawn in white lines between the two spaces, then those two spaces are NOT adjacent and the figure cannot move diagonally across them.  If, however, there is still a common edge or corner (as is often the case regarding inside corners defined by the edge of a single tile) then you're good to go.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just for confirmation, taking tile 17B (L-shaped) as an example:

OO
OO
OOOO
OOOO

Can you move diagonally on the inside corner of the map?
According to Steve-O's answer, I'd say no, since the two spaces shares a single black corner. Is this correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

RazR said:

Just for confirmation, taking tile 17B (L-shaped) as an example:

OO
OO
OOOO
OOOO

Can you move diagonally on the inside corner of the map?
According to Steve-O's answer, I'd say no, since the two spaces shares a single black corner. Is this correct?

Blimey, I'm a bit surprised we've been playing so long and not noticed that those corners are blacked out, too. =P

Yes, you can cut diagonally across that corner, which I suppose means you can cut diagonally across all corners so long as the wall doesn't completely divide the two orthogonal spaces.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So much analysis over triviality…does it make sense for your gaming group or doesn't it?  That is all that matters.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

schmoo34 said:

So much analysis over triviality…does it make sense for your gaming group or doesn't it?  That is all that matters.

 

yup.  in our group, when in doubt we roll it out.  if some players think the rule is one way and others think its another way we roll a d6 high roll wins..thats it.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello, in our group we have decided to consider the black edge (tile border or created by linking tiles) as blocking for LOS and Move purposes only where it completely occupy a space edge (from corner to corner). So between two spaces orthogonally placed the black line is a blocking obstacle, between two spaces diagonally placed it is not, even in a situation where the black line partially overcome the corner or the white line is not continuous. Until a FAQ doesnt say differently we have decicde to rule so to keep play mobility and LOS possibilities at the maximum. Hope this could help.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There's a movement example on page 9 of the rule book that shows that you can move across corners.  It's the same as moving diagonally between figures or obstacles.  I'll admit me and my gaming group were also a little thrown at first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

magicWALLIS said:

There's a movement example on page 9 of the rule book that shows that you can move across corners.  It's the same as moving diagonally between figures or obstacles.  I'll admit me and my gaming group were also a little thrown at first.

Here is the movement example :

dia

Note the final remark of example 3 : "the black edge of the map tile does not block diagonal movement around corners."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0