Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Carist

Matrix Analyzer and Weyland: Because We Built It

Recommended Posts

Can the recurring credit from Weyland Consortium: Because We Built It be used then advancing a piece of ice with Matrix Analyzer?

 

Weyland Consortium: Because We Built It:

1 [Recurring Credits]
Use this credit to advance ice.

 

Matrix Analyzer:

When the Runner encounters Matrix Analyzer, you may pay 1 [Credits] to place 1 advancement token on a card that can be advanced

 

Of course I can use the recurring when I take the Advance a Card action and advance an ice, but Matrix analyzer says to spend a credit to place an advancement token on a card that can be advanced. 

It it the same thing?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Carist said:

Can the recurring credit from Weyland Consortium: Because We Built It be used then advancing a piece of ice with Matrix Analyzer?

 

Weyland Consortium: Because We Built It:

1 [Recurring Credits]
Use this credit to advance ice.

 

Matrix Analyzer:

When the Runner encounters Matrix Analyzer, you may pay 1 [Credits] to place 1 advancement token on a card that can be advanced

 

Of course I can use the recurring when I take the Advance a Card action and advance an ice, but Matrix analyzer says to spend a credit to place an advancement token on a card that can be advanced. 

It it the same thing?

 

Not sure if there is a ruling on this but on the surface I would say that you can't. Technically you are not "advancing" the card because you didn't take and advancement action, you are simply placing an advancement token on the card.  I think the distinction here is that you are not taking an advance action you are just placing a token. I think also you have to consider you are not paying a cost for an advancement action, you are simply paying to put a token on the card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also makes me wonder if placing a token on the card counts as advancing a card. If simply placing a token on the card outside of an advancement action advances the card then I would think that you could use it (given that it is being used on ice). Seems like this could use some official clarification.

 

However, I think the intent of this type of ability is to lower the cost for adcancement actions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This has already been clarified (too lazy to dig up the BGG thread). Matrix Analyzer's ability is not an advancement action, so you cannot use the recurring credit from the identity.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a question that kind of fits this. If the corp had an agenda that was one away from being able to score ie had 4 out 5 advancement counters on it and the corp had matrix anyalizer protecting it and a runner made a run on it could the corp pay the 1 credit and place the counter on the agenda and then score it before the runner could steal it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

cwhttiger said:

I have a question that kind of fits this. If the corp had an agenda that was one away from being able to score ie had 4 out 5 advancement counters on it and the corp had matrix anyalizer protecting it and a runner made a run on it could the corp pay the 1 credit and place the counter on the agenda and then score it before the runner could steal it?

No. Agendas can only be scored during the corporation's turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...