Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
tibs3688

Reek + Roose

4 posts in this topic

My opponent today used Reek's response and then Roose's afterwards, claiming that this would not undo Reek's ability and return control of the character claimed by it, but would still return Reek to his side.  I don't see how the wording on Roose's ability lends itself to that conclusion but he was quite insistent that "Reek is permanent."  What is the case here?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

tibs3688 said:

 

My opponent today used Reek's response and then Roose's afterwards, claiming that this would not undo Reek's ability and return control of the character claimed by it, but would still return Reek to his side.  I don't see how the wording on Roose's ability lends itself to that conclusion but he was quite insistent that "Reek is permanent."  What is the case here?

 

 

Well, he's half-right. While Reek's ability is permanent in the sense that it will continue to be in effect if he leaves play, it is not permanent in the sense that it can never be reversed. Roose Bolton's ability says that when his condition is met all players regain control of all characters they "own," which is quite literal. When they game refers to a card you own, it means any card from your deck. Roose, therefore, would cause you to regain control of the character they used Reek to steal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Essentially, the exchange in control is just as "permanent" for Reek as it is for your character. It would be an odd kind of reasoning that made the "permanence" of Reeks exchange control effect one sided.

Generally, all control change effects that do not specify a duration last until the card leaves play or another effect (like Roose) makes control change again. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ktom said:

Generally, all control change effects that do not specify a duration last until the card leaves play or another effect (like Roose) makes control change again. 

Just want to make sure that nobody misinterprets this to mean that an attachment like Enslaved has an indefinite duration.  A character who changed control via Enslaved would return to its original owner if the attachment was removed from play, since passive text on attachments lasts only as long as the attachment is in play (only mentioned because I misunderstood this at first).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0