Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Mallesh

Naval Question

Recommended Posts

Mallesh said:

Can a character who is participating in a challenge and is standing, naval into the challenge to count its strength again?

Nope. A character cannot enter into the same challenge twice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think that's strictly true, Stormwolf. 

I'm fairly certain a character can enter a challenge as many times as they like, they just cannot be participating "twice" in that challenge (nor count their strength twice) - they are either participating or they are not. For instance, I believe Osha and Shield Island Dromond could result in Osha jumping in and out of a challenge an infinite number of times, if the controller so chose. 

I briefly browsed the FAQ to see if there were any rulings that contradict this, and I found none.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This does not contradict what Stormwolf is saying: a character that is currently in a challenge cannot enter it again, but a character that has been removed from a challenge can enter it again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

-Istaril said:

Right, but specifically a character *can* enter the same challenge twice, which contradicts stormwolf's wording (although, I suspect, not his intent).

Not with Naval, it can't. The rules for Naval say:

 

"Any time after an attack is declared, the attacking or defending player can kneel a non-participating character with a Naval enhancement on the matching challenge icon and declare it as a Naval attacker or defender in that challenge."

So, "not currently participating" is a play restrictions on the use of the Naval enhancement - which answers the original post/question with resounding "no."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seeing as none of us are disagreeing, I'm clearly not expressing myself correctly.

I see entering a challenge, leaving it, and entering it again as "entering it twice" (although you only count your strength once, as I stated in my original reply), and so I wanted to clarify stormwolf's "cannot enter twice" comment. The ambiguity resulted from me not stating that I also understand that you cannot enter a challenge in which you're already participating (eg. specifically the naval ruling you quote).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Given that a character that is removed from a challenge is considered to have never participated in it at all, I think that's a hair that doesn't need to be split, especially since "entering it twice" does not imply the requisite "remove from participation before the second entry".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...