Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
nietger

Crossbow move surge ability and blocking all damage

6 posts in this topic

crossbow


Q: If a hero equiped with a crossbow spends a surge on the crossbow's second surge ability, can he still move the monster if the monster blocks all damage?

note : I don't want to consider any cases about a miss. I want to consider all cases where no X is rolled on the blue dice, and range is sufficient.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, it's not a Condition, so you can do it and move the monster even if dealing no actual damage. Set up your Runemaster buddy for those Blast attacks…

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry for adding on with my own questions in regards to calculating damage. 
When calculating damage, can you use the surges before subtracting shields on die rolls to add to the total damage, or must you deal damage first before being able to apply surges to buff an attack?

 

e.g.:

I roll a blue and yellow die.
I dealt 4 hearts total and rolled one surge. Let's say that I'm still using the weapon from the picture.
The opposing enemy rolled four shields. 

Currently, the damage is negated, but can I use the surge to deal the extra two damage still?

 

Thanks in advance for the answers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please refer to the above answer.  I think you are applying Condition logic to your Attacks. Don't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ixNine said:

Sorry for adding on with my own questions in regards to calculating damage. 
When calculating damage, can you use the surges before subtracting shields on die rolls to add to the total damage, or must you deal damage first before being able to apply surges to buff an attack?

All damage from the attack (including that added by surge effects or other hero abilities) is totalled before subtracting shields rolled in defense.  Surges can always be spent if they have been rolled, provided you have something to spend them on.

The only thing that is conditional upon wounds being suffered by the target are Conditions (Poisoned, Immobilized, Stunned, or Diseased, in the base game.)  That is all.

So, supposing you had a weapon with the ability "(Surge): Stunned" and the target has rolled sufficient shields to negate all damage.  You can still spend the surge on this ability if you want to, but the target will not be Stunned because he didn't suffer any wounds.  I'm not saying it would be wise, but the point is you can always spend surges.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0