Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
CenturionCajun

Rules Questions

Recommended Posts

So, I thought I would start this thread for the inevitable tide of rules questions I'm probably going to end up having. The formost of which is a rules clarification about leveling up. The group I was playing with yesterday was insisting you could only level up using six points of strength from cards of a matching color. However, the way I read the rules any six strength of cards is enough to level up. So, who is correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does it seem right that you get out of fighting enemies as soon as you lose?  If you have multiple enemies of different stats and lose to one, the engagement round ends immediately and you don't fight the next enemy from the way the rules are written.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kaaihn said:

Does it seem right that you get out of fighting enemies as soon as you lose?  If you have multiple enemies of different stats and lose to one, the engagement round ends immediately and you don't fight the next enemy from the way the rules are written.

That's exactly right. You might not fight the remaining enemies, buy you also don't get any assets or encounters either.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kaaihn said:

Seems odd that the other enemies don't get the opportunity to take a whack at you is all.

 

Well if you have three different colour Enemies which you have no chance of beating and you'd prefer to lose three lives, rather than one, that's your prerogative I guess.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi, I have a question about activated corruption cards. I unerstand how they activate so you need 3 cards if the acrtivation cost is 3 for exaple, but where i get confused is that, it says abilities stay active unitl discarded or flipped over. bu there is no mention in the rules how this occurs, i know some of the cards hvae flipped once resolved and there are cards and spaces that allw you to get rid of them. my question is relating to the discarding of cards. if for example i have 5 corruption cards and i have them all active because they are say 5, 2, 2, 2 and 1, when i discard one of the cards does the card that has the power 5 on it then flip over or does it stay active as the activation cost has been paid.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Once it's face-up, a Corruption card remains that way even if you then go below it's activation number in corruption. Haven't come across any means to flip a face-up card facedown other than some of the Corruption cards themselves saying "do this, then flip facedown."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's exactly as the rules say. It stays faceup as the "activation" requirement is only tested when the card is drawn, after that however much corruption you have is irrelevant. That said if you're going to discard a corruption card (via in game effect of some sort) and you don't like one of the faceup effects then by all means… discard that one.

Source: Rule Book, Page 17:
"…the card ACTIVATES and remains face up in his play area."
"The card remains activated, and any constat effects from the ability continue until it is discarded or flipped facedown"

Though I haven't yet seen a card that flips a corruption card face other than the corruption card itself that says "draw one corruption card then flip this face down". (Given I haven't looked through and memorized every card, just going off what I remember from play and a cursory glance of the rules).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dam said:

Once it's face-up, a Corruption card remains that way even if you then go below it's activation number in corruption. Haven't come across any means to flip a face-up card facedown other than some of the Corruption cards themselves saying "do this, then flip facedown."

**** beat me to it haha. Yeah similarly haven't seen any "flip a corruption card facedown" other than the corruption cards themselves, though I'm figuring part of this might just be preperation for possible expansions that have such things.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Might be a stupid question but here's my… :If you have an enemy trophy with attribute of 13,do you level up two levels at the same with all their rewards of level up one level at the time losing the remaining 7 xp?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You get +1 level for every six points of trophies you cash in, so 12+ single trophy nets you two levels. Best I've seen so far is 5 levels in one cashing. Character had 8 and 9 point trophies in the bag (one shy of 18 for +3 levels and didn't want to cash either in individually), then defeated Bloodcrusher (12 pointer that doesn't join others in battle) and a 3 and a 6 point enemies that joined up in one turn reir . Of course, I've also seen 60 points of trophies left over after reaching lvl 12 AND discarding 8 points for Warp Rift…

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ran this at game convention last week, had players only level up once per turn.  This allows them to stockpile excess trophies, and gives others the change to stay competitive, so someone doesn't run away with a victory after one lucky round.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, guess I did, rules say spent in multiples of 6.  Don't recall any times someone took on the "big ones" by themselves and won.  Still getting over  Talisman rules where you just loose excess trophy points.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Im a little confused with the Commisars middle special ability. I have two questions 1) Where is my play area? and 2) if I can't use the strangers abilities then why would I want them in my play area? Sorry if this is a bit dumb

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Chaos said:

Im a little confused with the Commisars middle special ability. I have two questions 1) Where is my play area? and 2) if I can't use the strangers abilities then why would I want them in my play area? Sorry if this is a bit dumb

#1: Play area is just where you put your assets.

#2: They work with his last special ability, allowing him to discard the stranger (or ally) to turn a skill or combat roll (I think those were the options listed) into a 6 and thus an exploding die.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×