Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Magnav0x

Commissar Clarification

3 posts in this topic

I've searched the rules forum for information about exactly how the combined units are supposed to work and it seems that previous topics left the issue clear as mud.  So:

 

When you purchase a solo Commissar for an SSU army do you either:

1. At list creation time buy two identical squads and attach a commissar to them to form one large 11 man unit. This unit counts as a suport unit and so fills one of the platoons 1-per-2 sections support slots.

2. At list creation time buy two identical squads and attach a commissar to them to form one large 11 man unit. This unit counts as one of the platoon's sections, but is treated as a support unit for scenario purposes (literal reading of the Commissar rule from DW:CZ pg 18)

3. At list creation time buy two identical squads and put them in as sections in the platoon. Also purchase a solo Commissar. At deployment time decide to attach these two squads together with the Commissar, forming one large section and incidentally reducing the number of squads you have by 2 for initiative purposes.

 

Has a difinitive answer been reached that I missed. I don't see anyting in the errata that clears it up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Magnav0x said:

I've searched the rules forum for information about exactly how the combined units are supposed to work and it seems that previous topics left the issue clear as mud.  So:

 

When you purchase a solo Commissar for an SSU army do you either:

1. At list creation time buy two identical squads and attach a commissar to them to form one large 11 man unit. This unit counts as a suport unit and so fills one of the platoons 1-per-2 sections support slots.

2. At list creation time buy two identical squads and attach a commissar to them to form one large 11 man unit. This unit counts as one of the platoon's sections, but is treated as a support unit for scenario purposes (literal reading of the Commissar rule from DW:CZ pg 18)

3. At list creation time buy two identical squads and put them in as sections in the platoon. Also purchase a solo Commissar. At deployment time decide to attach these two squads together with the Commissar, forming one large section and incidentally reducing the number of squads you have by 2 for initiative purposes.

 

Has a difinitive answer been reached that I missed. I don't see anyting in the errata that clears it up.



Three is about right. When you build a list, you have squads and may purchase Commissars. At deployment, you may choose to use said Commissar to combine two like squads together to form a single squad that is treated as a Support section (for the purposes of some deployments). The squads you combine do not need to be from the same platoon, but must have the same upgrades.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

em_en_oh_pee said:

a single squad that is treated as a Support section (for the purposes of some deployments). The squads you combine do not need to be from the same platoon, but must have the same upgrades.

 

 

So the OP knows, this does not influence army building, only deployments types, like the one where you bring in support units last

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0