Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Rogue 3

Old Ben's Spirit

26 posts in this topic

Interrupt: When enhanced unit would be destroyed, instead discard this enhancement and remove all damage from that unit.

 

So this even protects against force lightening right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, using Old Ben's Spirit to save your character from a Force Lightning will still remove any damage they have.  Which is nice… for the LS :-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question about this card (instead of making a new thread for it)

What happens in this case:

Ben is hit by the Coruscant Defense Fleet. Ben has alredy 2 damage on him. One of the 5 unit damage icons hit Ben killing him. What happens to the other four?

I think they all hit him at once, the Spirit goes off and then Ben is back to zero damage. Thoughts?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All damage is dealt at the same time. So your unit with Ben's spirit will live with 0 damage on it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Blade_Runner said:

Does anyone else find it thematically odd that you can enhance "Obi-Wan Kenobi" with "Old Ben's Spirit"?

 

Minor details. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Blade_Runner said:

Does anyone else find it thematically odd that you can enhance "Obi-Wan Kenobi" with "Old Ben's Spirit"?

I'm ok with the break in theme for gameplay purposes in this case.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Blade_Runner said:

 

My comment wasn't a complaint, just seeing if anyone else was thinking the same thing.

 

 

I know… I originally had typed up a bit more analyzing what the consequences would be if it couldn't play on Obi-Wan, but I couldn't quite make it coherent so I ended up cutting it down.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It might have made a bit more thematic sense if the card was named "Obi-Wan Kenobi" with a uniqueness diamond, so you could only have one in play at a time and would have to choose between the enhancement or the unit, but it would also drastically hamper its utility.

 

As for ways to deal with it as Dark Side, one word: capture. It stops death by damage, it stops instant death effects, it does jack squat against capturing. If the Light decks in your meta are overly reliant on that skeevy old ghost, counter with Take Them Prisoner (Detained can capture the unit, Tear This Ship Apart can take out OBS itself, but that's only useful if they don't have its objective out or you can kill the unit before they can get OBS back) and Boba Fett.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ok, I have an odd timing issue question about this card.

Say I have the Spirit on, say, an 1 health unit. And he is Force Choked with Sith Vader sitting out.

Is this the correct timing?

Force Choke

Spirit

and then Vader's ability?

I would say yes because Spirit is an Interrupt, but just thought I would ask. Besides what knucklehead would play out that scenerio?

Force ChokeDarth VaderTwi'lek LoyalistOld Ben's Spirit

 

and of course while posting this I remembered the entry in the FAQ:

Interrupt and Reaction Priority


In the case where both interrupt and reaction abilities could be taken from the same triggering condition––interrupt effects have a priority, and must be initiated and resolved first. (Interrupts will always be used and resolve before the triggering condition itself, the triggering condition will resolve second, and reactions to that condition will be used and reasolve third.)

 

So I guess I answered my own question……………

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Obi-Wan Kenobi is better when he has Spirit!

*rimshot

And the capture mechanic is perfect against this card (which means I might have to start running Boba Fett. *shudders*

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

JMCB said:

Obi-Wan Kenobi is better when he has Spirit!

*rimshot

And the capture mechanic is perfect against this card (which means I might have to start running Boba Fett. *shudders*

 

Yes, Detained against a double spirited Obi Wan was nice. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Last game I was set up to use Tear This Ship Apart on Old Ben's Spirit right before dealing the last bit of damage to Obi-Wan Kenobi. Didn't get a chance to use it, though because I won with a Superlaser Blast. I think Tear This Ship Apart is another great way to deal with Old Ben's Spirit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

TGO said:

Yes, Detained against a double spirited Obi Wan was nice. 

 

Man, why do you have to ruin my good night and remind me of that? =P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

JMCB said:

TGO said:

 

Yes, Detained against a double spirited Obi Wan was nice. 

 

 

 

Man, why do you have to ruin my good night and remind me of that? =P

 

Because you rubbed in the loss to the bad icetromper deck.  apesta

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone else sorta wish the card had been called Jedi Spirit instead, so that you're not in a situation where Obi-Wan is being protected by two spirits of himself?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

MarthWMaster said:

 

Does anyone else sorta wish the card had been called Jedi Spirit instead, so that you're not in a situation where Obi-Wan is being protected by two spirits of himself?

 

 

Thematically I am torn because I like that the card is called "Old Ben's Spirit" due to how Obi-Wan Kenobi is able to help and assist Luke throughout the original trilogy, but it does create an awkward situation with protecting Obi-Wan with his own spirit.  When "Old Ben's Spirit" is played on Obi-Wan Kenobi, I guess the enhancement could be interpreted as a moment when Obi-Wan utilizes his own force/spiritual power to project himself in a way that most Jedi/Characters cannot. 

Similar to the Decipher SW:CCG, the decks we make are not going to be 100% congruent with the events and storyline of the original trilogy.  IMHO I think the game offers alternative possibilities for how things could have played out between the LS and DS. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I swear I've seen the answer to this somewhere, but I can't find it now.

I had Boba Fett vs. Luke with Old Ben's Spirit (and a bunch of other enhancements to boot!). I won the edge and dealt the finishing blow to Luke. Old Ben's Spirit kicked in and removed all damage counters. Then Fett's reaction came into play. I would say that he dealt damage, even if the damage counters were removed by Old Ben's Spirit, so Fett captures Luke and discards all the enhancements.

I could also envision someone arguing that no damage was done since Luke is undamaged after Old Ben's Spirit takes effect, but I don't think that's right.

What do you guys think?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Budgernaut said:

I swear I've seen the answer to this somewhere, but I can't find it now.

I had Boba Fett vs. Luke with Old Ben's Spirit (and a bunch of other enhancements to boot!). I won the edge and dealt the finishing blow to Luke. Old Ben's Spirit kicked in and removed all damage counters. Then Fett's reaction came into play. I would say that he dealt damage, even if the damage counters were removed by Old Ben's Spirit, so Fett captures Luke and discards all the enhancements.

I could also envision someone arguing that no damage was done since Luke is undamaged after Old Ben's Spirit takes effect, but I don't think that's right.

What do you guys think?

You did damage Luke.  You damage every character with Boba even if he kills them.  The issue is that when he kills them, they are discarded before he can use his Reaction.  The fact that Luke remains means you can finally use Boba's Reaction.  The damage was at one point placed on Luke.afterall.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Note to LS players in this situation: if you're running Last Minute Rescue and might have a Return of the Jedi coming up you can choose not to use Old Ben's Spirit's Interrupt (it isn't Forced) and let Luke die instead of being captured.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
dbmeboy said:

Note to LS players in this situation: if you're running Last Minute Rescue and might have a Return of the Jedi coming up you can choose not to use Old Ben's Spirit's Interrupt (it isn't Forced) and let Luke die instead of being captured.

Right. That's been my plan for a while since I run A Hero's Journey, Secret of Yavin 4, In You Must Go, A Message From Beyond, and Last Minute Rescue.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

TGO said:

All damage is dealt at the same time.

 

How do we know that damage is dealt at the same time and not one by one?

 

Is the same true for the use of the tactics icons? Do I have to deal two focus tokens to a unit with a shield icon to be 100% sure it is focussed afterwards?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to follow up on the idea of damage being dealt at the same time, I had a scenario in a game recently where we weren't sure exactly how the damage gets resolved…

 

The LS player attacked with Han Solo and a Guardian of the Peace, placing a shield token on Han. Both characters had 1 damage token, and the Guardian had an Old Ben's Spirit. the DS player defended with Darth Vader wielding Vader's Lightsaber. The DS player won the edge battle and focused Vader to do 3 damage to Han. The first damage was blocked by the shield. The LS player used the Guardian's protect ability to take the second damage, killing it, and using Old Ben's Spirit to save her. The LS player then used the Guardian's protect ability again, to place the third damage on the refreshed Guardian.

 

Is this the proper sequence to follow? If all 3 damage are technically being dealt at once, is there an opportunity to use Old Ben's Spirit in between 2 damage being placed? Or should Han have died from the 3rd damage?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0