Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Khamul The Easterling

Watcher in The Water Tentacle Question

7 posts in this topic

So All the Tentacles in The Watcher in The Water Senario have a text that says to "discard a card from the encounter deck and if it is a tenacle enemy…." then do whatever it says.  But my Question is do you deal a shadow card AND the card for the text or do you just do the text and skip the shadow card?  What i was doing was deal a shadow card, then discard the card from the encouter deck to see if it is a tentacle.  Is this right?
 

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Shadow cards are dealt at the beginning of the combat phase, before enemies attack.  Striking Tentacles will also trigger their Forced effect, discarding an encounter deck card when they attack (for the other kinds of tentacles, the Forced text only triggers when YOU attack THEM).  So, with a Striking Tentacle, it'll look something like this:

1) Deal shadow cards to all enemies at the start of the combat phase.

2) Decide which enemy will attack first.  Declare defender (or let it go undefended).

3) If that enemy is a Striking Tentacle, discard the top card of the encounter deck.  This attack becomes undefended if the discarded card is a Tentacle enemy or has a shadow effect printed on it.

4) Reveal the shadow card that you previously dealt to the Striking Tentacle and resolve its effect.

5) Resolve attack damage.

Rinse and repeat for remaining enemies.  If the tentacles are Grasping or Thrashing Tentacles, you won't discard any cards from the encounter deck until you get to the next step of the combat phase, where you declare your own attacks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In step 3 (above), if the attack indeed becomes undefended, then you must assign the damage to a Hero -- not the exhausted Character that you selected for defense, right?  Just trying to clarify this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow - that is davastating -- what about the Thrashing Tentacle -- if I draw the trigger card when I attack it back, do I put my own damage on my character or his damage (3 pts) on my character?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's the damage from the attacking character(s).

 

This is a quest where scrying and encounter deck manipulation are very powerful. Those tentacle effects are vicious (apart from Grasping Tentacle: these can often be defeated by Snowbourn Scouts and the like).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0