Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Bkhazin

Legendary Tactician

15 posts in this topic

So what you guys are saying Phaser whould over come cover save if you read cover save it says its a bonus to Armor roll yet under phasers it says it does not overcome cover saves.. Legendary Tactician says you only get it if you get a cover save would that not make it a cover save not an armor roll. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

wrong, phasers say they negate armor saves only, cover still works. Thats why the british and french class 3 are evil in close range they have grenades and phasers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you read Legendary Tactician it is only works when in cover therefore its a cover save so phasers would not stop it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Legendary Tactician requires a unit to be in cover and then adds a success to its armor roll. If you do not get an armor roll, you do not get the bonus. Cover does still apply, though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sniper negates both armor roll and cover save which I think the question is answering I want to see phaser question.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bkhazin said:

Sniper negates both armor roll and cover save which I think the question is answering I want to see phaser question.

The thread has pretty thoroughly explained why LT does not apply to Phasers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The way he described it you should not get a cover save eaither as: This is they way it works Armor roll is phase 4 of the combat action. Cover saves are a bonus to Armor roll if you are denied an armor roll you should be denied a cover save . Phasers say they allow cover saves LT says it stack with a cover save and you have to be in cover to get it. Would team be denied then too?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Phaser ignores armor, allows Cover. Sniper ignores both. Until something else comes along that says it ignores armor without addressing cover, the discussion is moot. 

Also, "stacks with cover" is meant to convey that your typical cap of two additional successes from Cover can be added to the additional success of Legendary Tactician. The ability clearly states that it is a bonus to armor - not cover - meaning Phaser will ignore this Legendary Tactician bonus, but not any Cover bonuses. 

If you have any other doubts, shoot FFG an e-mail.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand it was ruled to be opposite of what most of the community thought, it seems. Check the thread to see the e-mail.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And that is why my initial answer was "From my reading of it".  You never know how Zach is going to rule…

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0