Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Scoob4

A Journey to Dagobah and Decoy at Dantooine

18 posts in this topic

 If A Journey to Dagobah is destroyed and I use its text to play Decoy at Dantooine from my deck, can I then use Decoy at Dantooine's text to reduce the Death Star's dial by 1?  

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think so.  The Triggering Condition that would activate the INTERRUPT ability of "Decoy at Dantooine" would have happened before the card was in play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think this should work.  Both objective effects are interrupts.  From the rules on interrupts:

"An interrupt effect is considered to be resolved before the triggering condition is allowed to complete -- often cancelling or changing the outcome of the triggering condition."
 
A Journey to Dagobah's text is:
 
"Interrupt: When this objective is destroyed, search your objective deck to choose your next objective and put it into play immediately. Shuffle your objective deck."
 
So before it get's destroyed, you search and place the new objective into play.  At this instance in time, you should have (potentially) four objectives in play, one of which (A Journey to Dagobah) which has at least four damage on it.  Then AJtD being destroyed resolves, and it leaves play, triggering Decoy at Dantooine's text:
 
"Interrupt: When an objective you control leaves play, decrease the Death Star dial by 1 (to a minimum of 1)."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here are the Core rules for this situation:

in play and out of play


A player’s unit cards, enhancement cards, and the current objective cards in his play area are considered “in play.”


“Out of play” refers to the cards in a player’s hand, his facedown decks, his discard pile, his edge stack, his victory pile, and any cards that are captured.


Card effects only interact with, and can only target, cards that are in play, unless the effect text specifically refers to an out-of-play card or area.


A player’s affiliation card is always considered in play, and cannot be removed from play by any card effect.


A card “enters play” when it moves from its “out of play” origin to a player’s play area. For example, a card enters play when it is played from a player’s hand, put into play from his objective deck, or is placed in a player’s play area by some card effect.


A card that “leaves play” moves from a player’s play area to the “out of play” destination indicated by card or rules text. “Remove” and “Discard” are common terms that indicate a card must leave play.

So I believe it would work like this:

1-Journey is blown up, interrupt happens, then goes to discard pile

2- Decoy comes out, DS continues turn.

I think the Immediately part of Journey is to benefit the LS more than it is the DS. The fact they can choose what they need is suppose to be the intent, and I see where your intent would be to slow down the dial, but I think Journey has already hit the discard pile by then.

This is just my 2 cents, I would e-mail FFG.

A Journey to DagobahDecoy at Dantooine

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would say that since the text mentions "When this objective is destoyed…" this infers that the objective is no longer in play.  While the interupt has been triggered, it did so due to the destruction of the objective.  In that case, objective one leaves as objective two comes into play and not two comes in after one leaves.  So, since the first objective left before the seocnd was put in play, the interupt on the second would not be triggered.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For those that think that Journey wouldn't still be around when Decoy comes into play, I have an alternate question:  Can Decoy trigger it's own interrupt?  If so, what is the difference between the two cases?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

doctormungmung said:

For those that think that Journey wouldn't still be around when Decoy comes into play, I have an alternate question:  Can Decoy trigger it's own interrupt?  If so, what is the difference between the two cases?

 

The difference is Decoy was in play at the time of its own destruction, Journey and Decoy were never in play together as Journey leaving is what brought Decoy in to play. There is no point where both are out at the same time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I submitted this to the rules question link. However, my feeling is that this trick would iindeed work. Journey's ability resolves before it is destroyed, which means that Decoy would enter play before the destruction of Journey.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Toqtamish said:

The difference is Decoy was in play at the time of its own destruction, Journey and Decoy were never in play together as Journey leaving is what brought Decoy in to play. There is no point where both are out at the same time.

See, I disagree.  The interrupt effect completes before the triggering action actually happens.  Thus, Decoy is out before Journey is destroyed. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And here's the full response now that I'm on my laptop instead of my phone:

 

Correct -- the interrupt on Journey to Dagobah triggers before it leaves play, and you are still resolving an objective leaving play, so that you would be able to trigger the newly arrived Decoy.

 
Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games
 

On Mar 14, 2013, at 1:26 PM, <> wrote:

Message from:
Matthew Brown




Rule Question:
If A Journey to Dagobah is destroyed and its Interrupt is used to put Decoy at Dantooine into play, can Decoy's Interrupt then be also triggered by the destruction of Journey? It seems like that would work to me as Decoy would be put into play before the destruction of Journey.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

See that's why I enjoy these forums. Great thinking on that trick and and now we have an official ruling on how it works.

I didn't see it that way, but I am not complaining, but yet planing on using it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also did not understand it that way, but now I get it.  The INTERRUPT ability of "A Journey to Dagobah" is triggered when the objective is destroyed, not when it leaves play.  So, like doctormungmung said you find a new objective and put it into play immediately, which means you technically have 4 objective decks in play for a split second before "A Journey to Dagobah" leaves play to your opponent's victory pile.  Thefore triggering the INTERRUPT ability of "Decoy at Dantooine".  Clever. 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This seems like a bad combo. Sure, you click the dial down by one but you have to play with a pod that is packed full of cards that are bad. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I playtested a deck that included Rebel Fleet, Flee the Empire and Decoy at dantooine in it and it was very difficult for the DS to play anything up. It was fun, but I don't think it was tournament viable.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

TGO said:

This seems like a bad combo. Sure, you click the dial down by one but you have to play with a pod that is packed full of cards that are bad. 

 

You could make the most combo-tastic deck this galaxy has ever seen.  I can almost hear Yoda's mournful speech:

"Journey to Dagobah leads to Decoy at Dantooine. 

Decoy at Dantooine leads to Draw Their Fire.

Draw Their Fire…leads to Fleeing the Empire…"(cue sad face)

Top it off with Mission Briefing, and you'll never get anything done cuz you're waiting for all your c-c-c-c-combos to go off to @#$% your opponent's world up like Pinkie Pie.

 

Micah

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0