Jump to content
frogemoth

Misfortune question

Recommended Posts

The spell states that you can cast this when a player is about to roll a die, the question is can this be used when a player is rolling the attack roll of a monster? We argue about this since it is not the character's turn but he his still rolling a die. We allowed it and as such a player was killed by the vampire prince.

Funny thing happenned with the Misfortune spell in our last game, I had twice the spell in possession, a roll a 1 for my movement, the player I wanted to kill was 1 square away from the reaper, I rolled the die didn't get a 1, used a fate to reroll and cast Misfortune on me, and then on the other player, very upset player ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

frogemoth said:

The spell states that you can cast this when a player is about to roll a die, the question is can this be used when a player is rolling the attack roll of a monster? We argue about this since it is not the character's turn but he his still rolling a die. We allowed it and as such a player was killed by the vampire prince.

When a player rolls a die for an Enemy, this roll can't be considered as a roll made by a character, otherwise the rolling player might use his fate to reroll the Enemy's attack roll (which is not allowed, as we all know). However, I don't understand how making the Vampire Prince roll a 1 could make things worse for the character who is fighting against him.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well if I remember correctly the rules specifically state that you cannot use fate when rolling the die for a monster, however the Misfortune spell doesn't state so. Agreed my example was wrong, but in this case I justed wanted to recycle the spell as I was stuck with it as nobody was rolling 1 for their move :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  •  
  • ///Misfortune: Cast on any character who is about to roll a die. That die automatically rolls a “1” result and cannot be rerolled.///
  •  
  • hello guys !
  • Can I cast Misfortune on a player rolling "for" a Creature or Ennemy ?
  •  
  • Ex 1 : I fight an Ennemy Dragon , the dragon 's attack score is rolled by the character on my Left.
     Can I cast Misfortune on him to make the Dragon Roll a 1 to win the fight easily ?
  •  
  • Ex 2 : You are on the Crown of command, the endind card is "The Hand of Doom"
  • ///The Hand of Doom : A character on the Crown of Command must roll 1 die for the Hand of Doom during each of his turns:
  •            1) All characters are killed, – all players lose the game.
  •            2-3) Lose 1 life.
  •            4-5) Choose one character; that character is killed. If all other characters are killed, you win the game!
  •            6) All other characters are killed – you win the game! ////
  • Can I cast misfortune on you to make you roll a 1 for The Hand of Doom ?
  •  
  • Ex 3 : I am in the inner region where I must "Dice with Death"
  • ///Dice with Death : Roll two dice for yourself and two dice for Death.
  • If the scores are equal: Dice with Death again on your next turn.
  • If your score is lower: Lose one life and Dice with Death again on your next turn.
  • If your score is higher: You may move on your next turn.///
    Can I cast Misfortune on Myself when I am rolling For the Death's score to make 1  dice result to a 1 ?

    Let me remind you for exemples 2 and 3 that page 18 of the rulebook say :
    "None of the creatures in the Inner Region can be affected by any Spell, nor may they be evaded." 
    For me, it's clearly a creature affected by a spell ! So it can't work
  •  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...