Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Smithers666

Rune wars revised edition - How do you know which areas belongs to a certain player?

4 posts in this topic

Rune wars revised edition - How do you know which areas belongs to a certain player?

 

Is it only the areas with an active marker that belongs to a player or does all areas where the player have troops in belong to that player.

What if a player conquers an are then leaves it emty does that area belong to that player?

 

Think the rules are not clear on this eve if one could logically argu that an area belongs to a player as long as he is the last one to have troops in that area. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A player controls an area if they have at least one unit or a Stronghold in that area.  If a player moves all his troops out of the area, he no longer controls that area if there is no Stronghold there.  Activation markers have no bearing on control, only the presense of units/strongholds.  Heroes also do not impact who controls an area.

There are two exceptions to this:

1) Home realm areas are ALWAYS controlled by the relevant faction (unless an enemy has units or a stronghold there).  Even empty home realm areas are considered to be controlled by the faction whose home realm it is.

2) With the expansion, the Daqan Lords have a Development Card for "Peasants", which allow them to put Peasant tokens in areas they vacate, which basically allow them to retain control of the area even without units.

 

The rules are actually pretty explicit with this, once you know where to look.  On page 15 of the Revised Rulebook is a list of "Frequently Used Terms", which describes, among other things, a "Controlled Area".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"A player controls an area if they have at least one unit or a stronghold in that area".

This means that Strategize Order (used on adjacent empty areas) let me control those areas right at the start?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Flesh said:

"A player controls an area if they have at least one unit or a stronghold in that area".

This means that Strategize Order (used on adjacent empty areas) let me control those areas right at the start?

Yes, you can use Strategize to move units into an empty adjacent area and you will then control it.

Note that hexes which contain neutral units are not empty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0