Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BrooklynMike

Close Combat

3 posts in this topic

I'm playing a lot of Dust Tactics at our game club ( www.nycwargames.com ) in an effort to get as many players as possible for our Regional Tournament on May 25th (see the Organized Play folder for details). Some questions arose:

1) Units are adjacent and the attacker wants to do Close Combat. When he declares that attack as his action, can he first fire all his ranged weapons at the unit he's attacking (or, other units for that manner) and THEN do a close combat assault? Or Close Combat only? Or, does he need to use an Action to fire the weapon and then another Action to do Close Combat?

2) If units are in diagonally adjacent squares (points of corners touching) are they considered adjacent for Close Combat?

3) Say a unit is ranged firing into a structure. If the target is standing right inside the door then get Soft Cover for being in the building. If they were one square back from the door they get Hard cover for combining two Soft cover. Say the target was standing 3 or 4 squares back into the building … can they still be targeted with a Hard cover save? Or is there some point you simply can't fire on them.

There will be more, but these were top of mind. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1) An attack uses one action (unless it is a sustained attack) in which you can use all available weapon lines.  You must declare what weapon lines you are going to use first (including "C" range weapons) and the ranged weapons are resolved first, then the close combat weapon lines.  Ranged are resolved first because the CC weapons essentially put you into melee combat with the target and they will, of course get a chance to ratalitae back with any CC weapon lines of their own on your turn.

 

2) Yes, Dust Tactics' "first diagonal is free" rule makes a diaganol square "adjacent."

 

3) Units in the building, but adjacent to an opening, get the benefit of "hard cover" from a unit firing from the outside in that has line of sight (unless the the weapon line is an artillery weapon, marked "A," which cannot fire into roofed structures).  Units shooting at eachother in a building that have line of sight both get the benefit of "soft cover".  Units in the building further in than the square adjacent to an opening do not have line of sight with units outside the building so they cannot be targeted at all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0